remembering the roots (and rocks)

July 24, 2009

As far as ruts go, riding Corner Canyon, with its Jacob’s Ladder, its Ghost Falls, its Clarks, its BST, even its newish downhill run, is a pretty good rut. I can be on the local singletrack about 5 seconds after leaving my driveway. Really.

But Elden has forced us to remember our roots. I feel like Simba when Mufasa appears in the sky and tells him he has forgotten who he is. “You must go back and take your place in the Circle of Life.”

So this morning we did it old school. Start at the dam, up Tibble Fork to the four way at the top, down Joy (south fork of deer creek), across the road, past people who pitched tents ON the trail, up to summit, out the Ridge (157), left to climb up Mud Springs, down Mud to rejoin Tibble Fork, and down to the dam. Only like 12 miles and about 2.5 hours, but almost 3,000 feet of elevation, and some really really nasty climbing. And by nasty, I mean awesome.

I would show you the video, but while Elden brought the helmet cam, he also brought dead batteries. Which meant he got to ride in the helmet cam helmet, but without taking video. Kind of like a dunce cap.

About 16 years ago, I bought a forest service map of American Fork Canyon, traced possible routes with a marker, and just headed out. This route has endured as the best of them all. Big Tibble. Sweet sweetness. But because of the Corner Canyon rut, in the last couple years I’ve only made it up here once or twice a Summer.

That’s a sin in some religions. Including mine.

Top of Mud Springs. 3 miles and almost 3,000 feet of fast, technical downhill about to start:

tibble ride group top

Lottsa happiness here. Kickin it old school.

tibble group 2

It takes just over 20 minutes to drive here. I need to do that more often. Cars can be our friends.

19 Responses to “remembering the roots (and rocks)”

  1. evilreview Says:

    my quads are HUGE.

  2. brkeyes7 Says:

    would you stop huggin me already. truly the toughest climb around followed by the sweetest downhill ever.

  3. bikemike Says:

    Again, i start my weekend with jealous pangs in the knowledge that my rides will consist of massive amounts of butt sweat and monster headwind on completely flat roads with a windchill factor on the north side of 105 degrees.

    Thank you all so much.

    At least i head for North Carolina next week. Mt.Mitchell, Mt.Pisgah, Grandfather Mtn….so, i got that going for me.

    • LT Says:

      bikemike- don’t forget your arm and knee warmers, that wind chill sounds horrible.

    • David Says:

      bikemike -

      Hitting up Mt Mitchell this weekend for ORAMM , let you know how it is.

      • bikemike Says:

        sweet, my favorite ride is Th Folk Art Center to Mitchell and back.
        nothing like a little high speed wheel wobble coming down Mithcell with a massive fog bank and steep rock walls to smack into.

        have a great ride David.

  4. skimoab Says:

    Wait, UP Tibble Fork? Especially in its current condition… You guys rock. How is the new boardwalk on Deer Creek? Haven’t tried that out yet.

    • dug Says:

      the reports of the demise of tibble fork have been a bit premature. it’s got some rough spots, but it’s generally in really good shape. with gears it would be 95% rideable. on a ss it’s about 90% rideable.

      the new boardwalk on deer creek is great, little soft cuz it’s new, but very nice.

      the start of the mud springs climb is in very technical shape, but also rideable. motorcycles have lowered the trail in spots by about 6 inches, but now that it’s dried out, the damage isn’t as horrible.

      in short, i will be back. soon.

  5. Rick S Says:

    That climb up Tibble can cause internal bleeding in the back of the throat. It hurts a lot but the downhill takes the pain away.

    That was my first AF dirt ride of the year. Let me say that again….That was my first AF dirt ride of the year. What is wrong with me?


  6. [...] Meanwhile, here’s the group photo Dug took at the bottom of the trail for his writeup of the ride. [...]

  7. stevenbpt Says:

    Wish I could have been there. Really. But I am still not motivated enough to get there. Keep ridin. Ya’ll.

  8. Mike Says:

    Tibble takes me back to my roots too. It was my backyard trail back in 1995. In the last 10 years I’ve only gotten back twice… even a hundred rides on Tibble is not enough. I miss those trails. I love those trails. Thanks for the walk down memory trail.

  9. Bob B Says:

    I miss Tibble. I’ve had to pull over at least three times on that ride to deal with blurred vision and heart spasm syndrome.


  10. Sounds like a great ride!

  11. Freedom Says:

    Thanks for posting some great ride and ski reports, love it. It’s what makes life grand.

    I miss UT mtns.

    Keep enjoying them for us flat landers.


  12. [...] Meanwhile, here’s the group photo Dug took at the bottom of the trail for his writeup of the ride. [...]

  13. rookieroadracer Says:

    Looks like a sweet ride! Good on ya for getting it done, especially on a SS. What are these arm and leg warmers you discuss? Is that anything like tire warmers? I find my arms and legs stay warm just fine, especially in my leathers. Tires, OTOH, now there’s a cause for warmers…

  14. evilbanks Says:

    great trail. you are a badass for going up tibble, especially on the SS.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

