hot brown

November 1, 2010

Well, I did it. I ate Hot Brown.

No, unlike Nala, I didn’t eat my own poop.

But last Friday, we went out to eat with some friends. And much to my delight, they were serving something they called Hot Brown.

I didn’t even have to read the description. If a fancy restaurant is ballsy enough to call something Hot Brown, I feel an obligation to order it.

“Roast turkey and smoked bacon on sourdough toast with parmesan-gruyere cream, chef’s vegetable, mashed potatoes.”

In short, this:

hot brown

Sure, it looks like the boiled rabbit from Fatal Attraction hiding under a slice of bacon.

But you know. Bacon.

What? Oh, yeah. It was good. I ate it all.

12 Responses to “hot brown”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    I can’t wait for tomorrows post. Hot Brown II Skid Marks and Postpartum.

  2. bob Says:

    ahh, a little bit o Kentucky right here in Zion, next thing you know you’ll be drinking a Mint Julep.

  3. Six Says:

    Is that near here in Hurricane? Because if it is I’m totally getting some. That makes me hungry just looking at it.

  4. Jenn Says:

    That’s an awfully fancified hot brown. Where’s the Velveeta? My boss took me out for the express purpose of getting one of these, the first time he came to do my evaluation when we lived in Kentucky. It was nasty. And I could hear a banjo playing somewhere in the distance.

  5. rick Says:

    From the menu of the English Grill at the Brown Hotel in Louisville, KY, where the Hot Brown originated. (http://www.brownhotel.com/the-english-grill.htm)

    The Hot Brown 22
    “A Louisville Tradition since 1926”
    Roasted Turkey Breast and Toast Points covered with Sauce Mornay, Parmesan Cheese,
    Baked Golden Brown and Finished with Bacon and Tomatoes

    The original is a work of art; it looks nothing like what you were served. I can’t imagine serving mashed potatoes with a H.B.

    Thanksgiving is coming soon, so there will be plenty of leftover turkey and we can make them at home! Yummy! But don’t let cheddar (or God forbid, Velvetta (r) anywhere near it.

    A mint julep would be good. Just leave the sugar water, ice, and mint out of mine, please.

  6. Jenn Says:

    Rick, I don’t know who you are, but I like your (mint julep) style. Also, vis-a-vis Velveeta(r) (that’s very fun to say), I neglected to mention that I partook of this delicacy in EASTERN Kentucky, where this, among many other things, is done…I’ll put this kindly…differently. It was Velveeta, and the ‘toast points’ were Wonder Bread. Wonder Bread toast points…what a great name for a band.

  7. Steve The BigRide Says:

    Bacon, gravy and bread – awesome. I’m leaving work right now for my second breakfast.

    • rick Says:

      Steve TBR:
      No gravy in sight, just a wonderful, creamy, cheese sauce. (Unless, of course, you are in Eastern KY.) And you forgot to mention the turkey.

      When it is properly made (and sized,) you can probably have it for your first breakfast and then skip lunch, before you have a late supper.

  8. tibiker Says:

    See we don’t just eat Fried Chicken and road kill in KY, we eat cardio-suicide meals like the Hot Brown.
    I have to say, the one’s I’ve had were way tastier than that one looks.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

