pfeiferhorn south

April 5, 2011

Like Chaucer said, April is the time for pilgrimages. Around here we call it peak bagging.

I’m no mountaineer. I just like to hike peaks and ski them. Eventually, I want to ski all the peaks I can see (or imagine) from my house.

Saturday was going to be East Ridge of Timp day for me, Steve, and Rob, but Jared did a Timp Traverse Friday, and saw myriad giant crown lines all of the same aspect we wanted to ski. So we let some air out of our tires, and hiked the Pfeiferhorn from Alpine instead.

We spent the morning hoping the sun would come out, because the 40 plus degrees of the southwest face is less appetizing when it’s bulletproof. Nothing compared to the Northwest couloir of the Pfeif, which has a mandatory rappel in the middle of it, but for the likes of us (me), it’s plenty spicy.

This is a picture post. Because the views are one of the main reasons we go up there.

Pfeif-1

Pfeif-3

Pfeif-7Pfeif-8Pfeif-10Pfeif-13

Pfeif-14

Pfeif-18Pfeif-19

Pfeif-23

Pfeif-25

Pfeif-27

Pfeif-29

Pfeif-30

Pfeif-31

Pfeif-32

Pfeif-33

Just have to comment here. Don’t those look like the perfect big peak corn skis? Yeah, I like carrying them.

Pfeif-34

Pfeif-35

Pfeif-36Pfeif-37

Pfeif-39

Pfeif-40Pfeif-41Pfeif-42

It’s a big mountain, and the scale of it isn’t really apparent until you’re on it. So big that we were like little rollerballs on the face.

Pfeif-43Pfeif-45Pfeif-46Pfeif-47

And, if you’ve gotten this far, you might as well go all the way with a little video. I wish the battery had lasted to the survival skiing down to the car. That was way sketchier than the top.

pfeiferhorn south april 2011 from Doug Anderson on Vimeo.

9 Responses to “pfeiferhorn south”

  1. Brandon Says:

    Looks like quite an adventure.

  2. wraps Says:

    Are those regular downhill ski boots? They are hard to walk in. I don’t know how you guys do all that hiking in them when you aren’t skinning. The trip looks great. No Diet Coke afterwards to celebtrate?

    • dug Says:

      steve has his regular alpine boots because he’s a noob. i have black diamond factors, which actually walk pretty well–vibram sole, cuff release that lets you walk normally. but they aren’t super light like some touring boots.

      rob has some light and soft touring boots (nice for walking) and some heavy hard to turn skis. kind of a funny combo.

  3. Nate K. Says:

    Times like that make me really wish I didn’t work on Saturdays. But alas, I do.

  4. VA Biker Says:

    Thanks for the trip. As someone who doesn’t ski, I can try to appreciate it all.

    Hey, what’s up with visor? Flashback, 1981, or are they “in” again? I don’t even try to keep up.

    • dug Says:

      i saw the visor in the black diamond store, and thought “it will be sunny on the pfeiferhorn, and this will also keep the sweat out of my eyes.”

      i was right about one of those things.

    • mark Says:

      I was wondering the same thing–since when do you wear visors? I was trying to figure out why you had pictures of Eric Bright in this post until you got a photo close enough that I could tell it was you.

  5. Grizzly Adam Says:

    That there is a good quality line.

  6. Flyin' Ute Says:

    I look up at that mountain every day. I love seeing it up close in your pictures and video. Good work!!! amazing how much snow is still up there.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

