the greatest generation

March 12, 2012

When I was but a wee lad of about 15 years old, my dad took my brother Steve and me to the Philmont scout camp, in New Mexico.

We didn’t want to go. Not because Philmont isn’t awesome, because it is. But I was 15, and I wanted to hang with my friends, go to the lake, and generally lounge.

But my dad insisted, we drove from Minnesota, towing a little tent trailer, to New Mexico. Once we got there, we got to pick from a variety of 4 day backpacking tours (not my dad, just me, Steve, a couple friends who met us there, and some wilderness survival guide guy).

Did we pick the giant, awesome, gnarly tour? Of course not. We picked the shortest, easiest route, with the least elevation gain. And we whined every step of the way.

Why do I tell you how lame and stupid I was as a teenager?

Point, counterpoint.

Friday, I asked Holden (13 years old) if he wanted to hike and ski Lone Peak.

He didn’t hesitate. “Yes. I look at that mountain every day from my school. I’ve always wanted to ski that giant half pipe. When can we go?”

Tomorrow.

“I’m in.”

The rising generation rocks.

We had breakfast at 5am, before we headed out, then stopped after a couple hours for second breakfast.

Holden, admiring the sunrise (in his own way):

Enjoying second breakfast:

We took our time, and stopped for Elevensies somewhere short of the top.

We maybe took the hobbit pace a little too literally, and it got pretty warm on us earlier than expected, so we stopped just shy of the ridge, and got ready to ski Heaven’s Halfpipe. The corn was a little overdone, and got a bit grabby here and there on the down.

Notice the camera on my head? I know it’s not as easy to see as those giant GoPros, but it’s there.

Here’s what it captured (notice the part where it captured the slightly overcooked nature of the corn and its effect on my skiing):

We have a new candidate for the Greatest Generation.

20 Responses to “the greatest generation”

  1. Brandon Says:

    What a cool adventure! Love the Sundance film festival shot through that hole in the snow and your crash/jump.

  2. steve Says:

    Love it. Holden you are awesome. We only whined the 1st day. Those other two kids we didn’t know whined the whole time.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    Awesome. I’m so impressed I don’t know what else to say.

    Holden could have played Call of Duty all day, but he didn’t. Props to you, Holden.

    And props to you, dug, for setting the example.

  4. Rick S. Says:

    I was glad to see you guys stayed skiers left at the bottom there. Remind me to tell you about the time Rob and I stayed right. Rambo had it better than we did.

  5. Nate Says:

    Props to you both. I score you a 9.9. Ass over tea kettle. Did your ski’s stay on?


  6. that’s awesome. and I am clearly doing something wrong.

  7. acl steve Says:

    Would you and Holden like to come autograph my bedroom window that stares at that line?

  8. Bikemike Says:

    I’m thinking there may be a money venture in renting out a cool kid to other families who have deadbeat kids. My dad would’ve paid top dollar for your son.

  9. Aaron Says:

    Glad to see you walking “Teton Style” as a nod to Steve Romeo (can’t see why else you’d walk that far in ski boots). I followed your skin track all the way up to that little nob where you dropped in. Corn was perfect when we dropped in.

    Oh, and you should teach a parenting class on how to raise awesome kids. So far my kids are doing well, but they have a long way to go till their skiing LP.

    • dug Says:

      well, actually i didn’t even know there was a “teton style” until mark pointed it out. but walking in factors isn’t so bad. worse for holden in his dialbellos.

      your kids have a long way to go because they’re like 4 years old.

  10. Daren Says:

    Makes me miss Tanner. Good times indeed.

  11. Jenn Says:

    Good kids come from good dads. Just sayin’…

  12. Jonnie J Says:

    Bringing him up right. Looks like a great day.

  13. Dianne West Says:

    Holden gets my vote! What a great father-son adventure.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

