the weekend in movies

June 18, 2012

Okay, the title is a bit misleading. I mean, I did see Prometheus, which I loved despite its flaws, but by “weekend in movies” what I really mean is, I did some stuff over the weekend, and I filmed some of it, set it to music, and went ahead and Vimeo-ized it.

I’ll start with the second thing first. Got Ian, his old friend Kolby, and his new friends Megan and Rachel out on the boat Saturday afternoon. A good time was had by all, near as I can tell.

But before we hit the lake, I headed up AF with Eric Bright and Brandon Banks to hit some dirt, with the primary goal of finding our way over to the new-ish Mill Canyon stuff. I heard tell of a 32 switchback climb. Turns out, yes, yes there are 32 switchbacks.

I got a little self-indulgent while I was watching a rough cut (first cut), and I wanted a song on it, so I popped Pink Floyd’s Shine On You Crazy Diamond, and, well, I just couldn’t cut any more after that. Sometimes the best iTunes feature is “sort by song length.”

Anyway, here it is, featuring the mud/mill downhill, and the mill switchbacks. There are 32 switchbacks. I think I got em all, but I don’t feel like counting again. I had a hard enough time counting them the first time.

 

3 Responses to “the weekend in movies”

  1. kanyonkris Says:

    You own a boat? We need to be better friends.

    I rode down Mud Springs last week. It’s in pretty good shape. Put a grin on my face.

    I like the new mega-switchback Mill. The grade is pretty even so I can get into a nice climbing rhythm. Although near the top the grade kicks up. Still fun.

  2. Brandon Banks Says:

    I loved that ride, every minute of it.

  3. eber Says:

    thanks for cutting out the parts where i pulled to the side bent over and gacked a lung. that was nice of you.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

