it’s the little things

April 21, 2008

I know taking pleasure in the pain of others is called Schadenfreude. But that seems so hoity toity. This morning on my commute I experienced what might have been called shadenfreude, but really was more like glee.

I was driving north on Bangerter, steered off my normal I-15 route by an accident at 7200 South, so way down at the bottom of Bangerter, I stayed west and took Bangerter from just north of 146000 South to my office just north of 3500 South. Bangerter is like a city street freeway, 3-4 lanes each direction, freeway speeds, but with stoplights every few miles at the southern end of the valley, and every mile or so at the northern end.

This morning right as I got on the road, I noticed a guy in a bright orange pickup truck with some landscaper company logo on the side. He was quite obviously in a terrible rush. And so, since I had nothing to do but listen to NPR for the next 30 minutes, I conducted an experiment.

I entered the middle lane, and never changed. And I watched Mr. Orange Pick-Up Truck (talk about a hard name to make sound tough–I bet he gets beat up a lot).

Mr. Orange Pick-Up Truck changed lanes over FORTY times in the next 10 miles/30 minutes (I lost count after 40–Diane Rehm had someone on who had written this great sounding book about a guy in Japan who rescued the Akita from certain extinction). I changed lanes ONCE, to get in the right lane to exit Bangerter Highway onto 3500 South.

I was directly behind Mr. Orange Pick-Up Truck as we turned right onto 3500 South.

I don’t know why it felt so good. But I high fived myself.

10 Responses to “it’s the little things”

  1. Rob Says:

    Huh…That’s strange. I was just reading this mornings post on mrorangepickuptruck.blogspot.com and it was about how he is making a pipe bomb to shove into the gas tank of a guy that pissed him off while he was driving to his anarchist convention (one which he was very late to…)

  2. Rob Says:

    Huh…That’s strange. I was just reading this mornings post on mrorangepickuptruck.blogspot.com and it was about how he is making a pipe bomb to shove into the gas tank of a guy that pissed him off while he was driving to his anarchist convention (one which he was very late to…)

  3. Rob Says:

    Can I add that I only clicked enter once and that in no way did I intended for there to be a winking smily face in the comment.

  4. dug Says:

    hey mr emoticon double poster. thanks. i can use the traffic.

  5. John Galt Says:

    Well played sir. Well played.

  6. eric Says:

    That was a frustrating commute. The radio said that there was an “minor” accident at 78th. 45 minutes later I am exiting at 106th South. It did allow me to people watch which was nice.

  7. Rob Says:

    🙂

  8. KanyonKris Says:

    I’ve seen that behavior as well. I drove like that when I was a teenager and early twenties, but then I realized it rarely affected my arrival time so I relaxed my driving. I think it’s an intelligence test. 😉

  9. Bob Says:

    Switching lanes on the freeway is king of like playing the stock market. You need to jump lanes before the next lane starts speeding up, even if you fall back a car or two. And then, when you’ve been passing a bunch of cars, it’s time to jump again, even though you’ll get passed again. It doesn’t always work, and most of the time you’re better off staying put, but when it does work, you treasure those 45 seconds you’ve added to your life.


Leave a Reply

