iron man lives

May 5, 2008

So it turns out I’m a total sucker for superhero movies. I know, Rick S. hates em. Just can’t stand em. But he’s stupid, because superhero movies, when they’re good, are very very good. (Of course, when they’re bad, they are worse than bad, you feel icky for just showing up.) And while the general rule for superhero movies is “the darker the better,” it doesn’t HAVE to be that way. See The Incredibles. Also, discovering superpowers is generally more interesting than USING superpowers.

(Instead of linking to all these movies, I’ll just direct you generally to www.imdb.com. You’re welcome.)

My top superhero movies:

Superman (1978), Superman II (1980), Batman Begins, Spiderman, and, now, Iron Man. Oh, and I’ll put Unbreakable in here, I think it counts. And The Incredibles. So what if it’s animated, it rocks.

My middle tier superhero movies:

X-Men (solid, but just can’t put them in the top tier), Batman (1989, with Michael Keaton, just missing the top tier, by THAT much), Spiderman II, Superman Returns (2006), Hellboy, Transformers (too noisy, but the parents make up for it), update: Mystery Men (brilliant, but too long and uneven).

And, the bottom:

All other Batmans, Supermans, Spiderman III (bleh), League of Extraordinarily Boring Gentlemen, Whatever that stupid blind guy Ben Affleck played is called. All parts of the Fantastic Four not featuring Flame Boy. And that bloated Hulk cartoon Ang Lee put together. Oh, and I guess I should mention Catwoman. Maybe not, maybe we can all just pretend that Catwoman never happened.

But this new Iron Man movie, well, I’m pleased. I know they’ve already put Iron Man II on the schedule (summer of 09), and I’m already excited. Robert Downey Junior has as much charisma as any actor working, and now that he’s BEEN Iron Man, he IS Iron Man in the same way that Christopher Reeve IS Superman.

And this summer, not only have we already had Iron Man, but here comes The Dark Knight, Indiana Jones, and a new Hulk starring Ed Norton. I’m in summer heaven.

Escapism just feels right these days. You know what I’m excited for? Wonder Woman.

19 Responses to “iron man lives”

  1. Bob Says:

    Want to hear a funny story? After Elden linked to you, I mistakenly bookmarked the article, not your blog. So all this time I’ve been thinking that Dug isn’t much of a blogger. Not true!

    Regarding superheroes, I sometimes sit in meetings and imagine that we’re the Justice League. My super power is being able to fast-forward through time.

  2. BotchedExperiment Says:

    Does Rambo count as a super hero? I think it does ’cause in the last movie, he got shot with a 50 caliber and although it knocked him down, he jumped right back up and continued blazing away with his own 50 caliber machine gun, whereas the people he shot exploded into multiple pieces. So that sounds pretty super heroish to me. And the Rambo movies have a good message for the kids.

  3. Rob Says:

    I think what Rick S means by not liking them is that his definition of Superhero movie is more in line with those films which portray a certain moral courage of the protagonist. A “hero” which one can emulate in ones own life; taking poigniant scenes from the film and using them to provide strength to get through the day.

    You know…Like Powder. I think he cried during that one.

    Don’t worry Rick – i’m sticking up for you.

  4. dug Says:

    botched, i’m not even going to dignify that with a response.

    oh, wait. . .

  5. Mathias Says:

    Unbreakable definitely counts. I’ve had numerous arguments regarding counting Unbreakable in the pantheon of superhero movies over the years, now next time I get in this argument I can point to your blog as proof it counts!

  6. Sleepy Says:

    The only problem I have with the list is Hellboy. In fact, it does not make “the bottom tier”.

    Are you up to see Ironman again? I need to get out.

  7. Rick S. Says:

    Dug- I’d rather poke my eye out than watch any of these movies.

  8. dug Says:

    sleepy, hellboy:
    http://www.metacritic.com/video/titles/hellboy?q=hellboy

    http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/hellboy/

    you are just wrong.

    i would totally see iron man again. and again.

  9. dug Says:

    rick, come on over here, i’ll poke your eye out for you. it’ll be my pleasure.

  10. Elden Says:

    Hey, I want to go see Iron Man. Let’s go see a matinee sometime soon.

  11. Bikemike Says:

    Dug, how about Iron Man and Human Torch together?
    Iron Man was freaking awesome. if anyone else goes, stay until all the credit run for a surprise.

  12. Boz Says:

    Rick S.- You could then be a blind, endurance riding super hero ala Daredevil. That would be cool.

    I hide the Catwoman DVD from my daughter, but she still finds it and plays it all the time. That is one rotten movie.

  13. Adam Says:

    Unbreakable had the worst ending of any movie ever. Ever. There was so much it was building up to, so much momentum, so much anticipation. And then…ugh.

    M. Knight makes good movies, but he either nails, or completely fails on his endings.

  14. dug Says:

    adam, i’m a sucker for weird endings. i’m just fine with the ending to unbreakable.

    you want frustrating endings? see limbo, the john sayles movie set in alaska. now that’s an ending people HATE.

    on the other hand, i kind of like it. just the sort of weirdness i can get behind.

  15. Jay Says:

    Incredibles, oh yeah.

  16. KanyonKris Says:

    You’ve got me interested in Iron Man even though the reviews are mixed. I’m willing to gamble. Just tell me it’s better than Transformers.

  17. dug Says:

    kris, i’m not sure if you’re reading reviews of the actual iron man.

    on rottentomatoes.com, 93% fresh (best of year so far), with a consensus statement of “Even non-comics fans can enjoy this smart, high impact superhero movie.”

    http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/iron_man/

    on metacritic.com, a 78 out of 100, which is only slightly less than, say, Juno got.

    http://www.metacritic.com/film/titles/ironman

    I already DID tell you it’s better than transformers. Iron Man, top tier, Transformers, barely middle tier.

    don’t make me come down there.

  18. KanyonKris Says:

    OK, I better do my homework before I comment. Sorry for the lazy comment. But now I’m even more interested. I could use a good movie.

  19. Drew Says:

    Yes, so many good movies this summer, but Indiana Jones isn’t one of them. While it tries to follow the same basic adventure plot of the previous, this one deviates in one huge way, that frankly I found dissapointing. It is by all means worth seeing, I just would wait for the DVD.

    The again I liked Daredevil…


Leave a Reply

