seriously, how old am i? part II

May 9, 2008

I’m a bit of a puss when it comes to motors. I drive mostly like a grandma (according to my kids, who are constantly telling me what a great and crazy driver their friend’s dad, Errol is), I’m kind of afraid of dying (I know, I’m WHACK I tell you), and everyone seems to have bigger balls than me. Kim’s dad has a Ferrari, and when he let Kim and me take it out from Park City, I drove fast in a straight line for about 10 seconds. Kim took it almost to Evanston, and was racing Audis and BMWs up twisty canyons.

So it’s a little weird that Kim and I bought motorcycles last Fall. Well, weird for ME I guess, not for Kim. I got a Kawasaki Versys, which is kind of a street version of a Supermoto. It’s cool, it’s red, and pretty darn comfortable. Kim got a Ducati, a Monster 695.

Sunday I had my family up for a bbq, and my brothers Steve and Rob took the bikes down the hill into Highland and back up a few times. The hill is a wide, four lane, low traffic, big twisty road, about 4 miles. Perfect for going fast on. And I do, on my bicycle.

Steve and Rob had big grins when they got back. Rob started jabbering about how fast they got going (triple digits), and how he kept looking back expecting Steve to have dropped off, but how Steve was always right there with him.

“And that’s when it hit me” he said. “I was with STEVE, not YOU. Steve’s not the puss.”

Love them.

10 Responses to “seriously, how old am i? part II”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    You have my support of your pussiness. 😉
    I’m pretty wussy myself.

    I like speed and I had a road motorcycle for a while. I almost dumped it in a gravel turn, then a few weeks later passed an ambulance with paramedics tending to guy who’d crashed his Goldwing off the road. I put 2 and 2 together and sold the bike – the money went towards my wife’s engagement ring. A deep message here? Dunno. My wife likes the sentiment, but it was simple economics at the time (of course being head-over-heels in love was a big factor).

    Where am I going with this? Uh, oh yeah – be careful on the motorcycles. Just like road cycling I worry most about the cars. But on a bicycle I’m doing less than 25 mph. It’s a tough call – on one hand life is to be enjoyed, on the other not much enjoyment in a body cast.

    I’m like a recovering alcoholic, I think. I should avoid riding motorcycles or I might buy one and do stupid things while chasing a speed induced adrenaline rush.

    Wow, quite a ramble.

  2. Bikemike Says:

    i have a 2004 suzuki 750 katana, bought it new and it only has 2100 miles on it. thought i wanted to sell it but now with gas prices going through the roof, i think i’ll keep it. the speed scares me. actually being on the road with cars at speed scares me.

    adrenaline on a motorcycle is a hard and cruel mistress.

  3. BotchedExperiment Says:

    I got over going too fast on motorcycles, cars, and bicycles when I was 33.

    When I was 22 I had Honda Interceptor 650. I used to ride it fast on residential streets. There were a few stretches of road that I often rode, which I used as time trials and constantly tried to improve my time/maximum speed.

    On one particularly stoopit evening, I was riding the moto home from work and I had an electrical short that killed all my lights. This didn’t stop me from still trying to improve my time/speed on my favorite stretches of road. All’s well that ends well, but when I think back about that night in particular, I cringe.

    Then a little later, I got a Honda Sabre V65 1100cc sport touring bike. Wow. When you pulled the throttle back on that bike in 1st or 2nd gear, it felt like the bike was going to just shoot out from under you and you really had to hang on. Just crazy.

  4. madjester Says:

    When I am your neighbor we will have to go on a ride. I’ve got to see you on a motorcycle.

  5. brkeyes7 Says:

    really old!

  6. Sleepy Says:

    Going fast is overrated.

  7. Jay Says:

    So, I’m confused. You don’t go fast in cars, but on bikes you are crazy fast. I know how fast you go down Suncrest.

  8. Bob Says:

    Fiber One is the ticket.

  9. steve Says:

    the thing is, the bike tricked me. I thought I was doing 45 when in reality I was pushing 75. I do not typically bow to speed but this was amazing and I could not resist. I have returned to my 4 cyl. saturn and reality with a new respect for speed. Also a little jazzed that I could get to 105 mph on a motorcycle. Don’t expect to see much of that or me out on the road. Still, Dug was the puss that time. Get me on a road bike next to Dug and the next time you see me will be with my feet on a couch waiting for him to get back with the pizza.


  10. As a new Versys owner I just wanted to welcome you to join the KawasakiVersys.com enthusiast site where you can talk about your bike. 🙂

    Ride Safe!


Leave a Reply

