my eyes, my eyes!

June 25, 2008

My dad was a university professor, published author, organizational behavior business consultant, family therapist, and a pillar in his religious community.

And apparently very comfortable with his naked self.

He used to get up early and exercise in the house. We didn’t have a home gym or anything, but he would go for a run, do some calisthenics, use a rebounder mini trampoline. And mostly he would do all this wearing a sweatshirt and sweatpants. Mostly.

Except this one time.

Me, my brother, and a group of friends were preparing to head to Taylor’s Falls, on the Minnesota/Wisconsin state line, to do some cliff jumping, canoeing, and general goofing, so we were filling coolers and bags with food, drink, and gear. Early in the morning. About the time my dad was exercising. In his sweatshirt. But not his sweatpants. No, this time, just his jockstrap. He was over 50 at the time.

And he was helpful, getting the cooler from the garage, grabbing a gear bag from the shelf, waving to us from the door as we sat, stunned, in the car, pulling out of the garage. Before the garage door could close, he turned and went back inside.

HE TURNED AND WENT BACK INSIDE!

Some things are burned into your brain, images you can never forget, no matter how much you drink or what drugs you ingest. To Jerry and John, on behalf of my dad, I apologize.

I mean, it’s not like he did it on purpose. Is it?

12 Responses to “my eyes, my eyes!”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    This explains so much.

  2. rob Says:

    Rick, you have no idea.

    Rob, dug’s brother.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    Another piece of the dug puzzle fits into place.

  4. Rick S. Says:

    Dug and Rob- I know what I am getting you guys for your next birthday. You just need to promise that you will wear it.

  5. chtrich Says:

    Seriously Dug, your blog is great!
    Thanks for the laughs each day.

  6. Bikemike Says:

    goggles, eye-bleach, acid, baseball bat to the head. any of these will help in future similar situations. as for the past, i’m thinking only the baseball bat.

  7. Shelle Says:

    I don’t know how you guys walk around with those things.

  8. Grizzly Adam Says:

    I bet after you guys drove off, he burst into laughter. I mean, he HAD to have done it on purpose right?

    “the goggles, they do nothing!”

  9. MoCougFan Says:

    Crack Kills.

  10. Sleepy Says:

    Excellent story. I think my dad would do similiar things just to scare my friends away. Its a good way to get removed from the ” let’s hang out there since the parents are so cool” list.

  11. ann Says:

    At least it was JUST your dad…rather than your mother and your father – those images are just…just…just….priceless?

  12. tonks Says:

    LOL that’s hysterical and it reminded me of something I haven’t thought of in years:

    My dad used to come to the door in his G’s if I was taking a little too long “saying good-bye” to my date on the front porch. I caught on quick and finished the smooching in the car prior to going to the porch…


Leave a Reply

