we all listen alone

July 11, 2008

I talked about music a month or two ago, and told you (you know, YOU) how my musical taste (ha) evolved. Well, you know how evolution involves branching, and speciation, and even dead ends?

Kim and I seem to have speciated musically. Although I’m not sure I know what that means. But I know I’m a little upset, and that’s what I’m trying to get across. Is it coming across?

Last week, while driving to pick up the kids at Lagoon (you know, when she mentioned my “food prep“), I was driving, which means, according to time-honored rules honored the world over, that I control the music unless I specifically delegate that responsibility. According to my custom I had the iPod (actually, my recently unlocked iPhone, but that’s a different topic) on total shuffle.

And we were listening to what might be the greatest song ever made, Radiohead’s “Everything In It’s Right Place.” And Kim said, “um, can we skip this song?”

I did a double take so violent I might have torn a muscle in my neck. I gave her the Eyes Bulging Out Of The Sockets stare. She was singularly unimpressed.

“Yeah, yeah, I know, you love it, whatever. I would have skipped like the last 20 songs already.”

I will now lock the doors and fill the car with water. I’m not sure which of us will be in the car.

9 Responses to “we all listen alone”

  1. Bikemike Says:

    the list of groups that i wouldn’t want to hear is long and heinous. i used to live under the premise that if i had a passenger, he/she, would get to pick the tunes.
    not anymore and not my longtime girlfriend.

    now, if i’m in another persons vehicle and something objectional is played, my options are SLIGHTLY limited.
    in other words if, for instance, the eagles or chicago or sheryl crow are being played, i’m not against throwing myself out of the window at high speeds.

    music, religion, politics, that’s some evil, personal mojo going on there.

  2. Jen Says:

    I’m with Kim on this one! Listening to that song is similar to hearing fingernails scratch on the chalkboard … kinda annoying!

  3. dug Says:

    jen, now i know who will be in the car with kim. you know, when i fill it with water.

  4. mark Says:

    Dug, I feel for you that your vehicle has become some sort of musical Galapogos Islands. That you and Kim don’t share the same musical passions is the same.

    Rachel and I, on the other hand, started out with very little common ground and have since converged, especially when it comes to what she’ll listen to on Sundays.

    I remember early on in our marriage wondering if it was going to work out because I took her to a U2 concert, and she did not come away from it having had the same magical experience that I did. The union is now more solid, as indicated the other day when I wanted to listen to the new Coldplay (again–I can’t get enough) and she said she needed to hear the White Stripes first.

  5. mark Says:

    Yeah, the second sentence of my first paragraph makes no sense. What I meant to say is “That you and Kim don’t share the same musical passions is a shame.”

  6. Kathy Says:

    I couldn’t even finish the video the song is so bad. This entry should also be filed under manopause and pussiness. Sorry, but I’ve got to keep it real.

  7. dug Says:

    yeah, mostly pussy middle aged men are into radiohead. they’re so gay.

  8. bikemike Says:

    so, radiohead, apparently gives women the urge to puke. just what is acceptable for a guy to play so he doesn’t run the risk of the look or getiing cut off (so to speak) ?

  9. HP Says:

    That song is horrible. Even worse than a Coldplay song.


Leave a Reply

