et tu, batman?

July 21, 2008

Batman has always been my favorite superhero. No special physical gifts, just money, gadgets, and grit.

I loved the first Tim Burton/Michael Keaton Batman, but none of the rest. I think Christopher Nolan’s Batman Begins is the best superhero movie ever, partly because I’m partial to origin stories, and this is the best superhero origin story ever.

And this new Batman, The Dark Knight, it’s magnificent, really it is. A masterpiece of film making.

But while I enjoy visiting, I don’t want to, I CAN’T live in the darkness. I love the dark, Se7en is the best thriller I’ve ever seen. But give me something, I need a beacon, a shining light, a Bat Signal. I can deal with regret, with anger, even revenge, from my hero. Regular humans like Harvey Dent, they can suffer moral ambiguity, they can be Hamlet, but not my Batman. You can be a Dark Knight and keep your moral compass.

I allow that terrorism has changed the world, and that the Joker represents terrorists. But this is BATMAN we’re talking about, not Oliver North, not George W, not freaking Dick Cheney. BATMAN. Batman does not torture.

Heath Ledger is amazing, really outstanding, right up there with Anthony Hopkins’ Hannibal Lecter villain-wise. The movie generally–amazing. Props.

But don’t take my Batman away from me. I need him. I need him the way he was.

7 Responses to “et tu, batman?”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    it’s possible I suffered a minor bladder strain during this movie. 2.5 hours is too long. Even for a Batman flick.

  2. Grizzly Adam Says:

    The way he was? Like as in Adam West? “Pow!” “Bam!” “Kerplunk!”

    I think it is the chic thing in superhero movies nowadays, to show the darker side. The brooding, moody, tempted hero. It can work. But if it goes to far then, well people react the way you have.

    I haven’t seen DK yet, so I can’t comment to specifically.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    I’m glad you mostly enjoyed the new Batman movie, but please hire a sitter next time.

  4. sleepy Says:

    I liked it. It was more than I thought it was going to be even with all the hoopla leading up to the release. They have a good thing going and I hope they don’t ruin it. I will go see it again soon.

    Did anyone catch the previews for the new 007 movie? I like the new Bond, he’s edgy, he’s badass.

  5. Flahute Says:

    You should go back and read some of the really early Batman comics, which are available in anthologized form … he was a vigilante early on … it was after the introduction of the comics code that he became more cartoonish (no pun intended) and campy, a theme emphasized even more in the Adam West TV series.

    When Frank Miller resurrected the Dark Knight in the late 1980s, I became a fan again … Batman should be dark and edgy.

  6. Bikemike Says:

    Batman just got arrested in england. allegedly.

  7. steve Says:

    I saw batman beat the crap out of someone (joker) and break a guys legs, but torture, come on. Someone else told me the same thing flahute said, that the real original (is that possible in this case?) was more vigilante than beacon of light, sorry. I agree though, I thought this went darker than I would have liked. I’m getting tired of the disguised voice also. You know, random thoughts from my random brain bro.


Leave a Reply

