today’s WTF moment, brought to you by the Tour of Utah

August 14, 2008

Since I live in Utah, and the Queen stage of the Tour of Utah actually passes within spittin distance of my front door (seriously, if I weren’t so worried about my arthritis, I could throw a rock from my yard and probably hit a team car), I have a mild passing interest in the race.

Which is good, since anybody wanting to follow (or even KNOW about the race) will require Sherlock Holmes-like detective skills. And there are big names and teams coming, guys who raced and won stages at the Tour de France (and not just the man from Marblehead, other guys with foreign sounding names too). It’s a big deal. Or should be.

The race started yesterday, so naturally I went to the actual race site, the site owned and operated by the Tour of Utah owners and operators, to get the results for yesterday’s rolling stage south of Utah County.

I got this:

2008 Tour of Utah Results

We will be updating you real-time, as soon as we know results, each day of the race.

Check back in August!

August 2009? Fiscal year?

Eventually, after I googled “tour of utah results” I got to a page on the site with a list of finishers. No race report, just a list. Oh, look, now it looks like that list is on the home page. Did I mention the race was YESTERDAY?

I wonder how long I’ll be sitting at the top of Suncrest Saturday morning with my cowbell before I give up waiting for the racers and just go home to check this super-interactive website for more details.

UPDATE: thanks uncadan8, for this tip: for much better coverage than the official site try this:

http://irideiwrite.wordpress.com/2008/08/14/tour-of-utah-stage-1-reports/

Now I can get my Tour of Utah on.

ANOTHER UPDATE:

The Tour of Utah had its first climbing stage today, from Ogden, up to Trappers, East Canyon, over Big Mountain, over Little Mountain, down Emigration, and to the University of Utah. I rode the Versys up to Little Mountain and waited with about 100 other people.

Very cool stuff, and unbelievably small time feeling. They don’t close the roads, they have some police at major intersections, and the parade was a pick up truck with somebody’s teenage daughters in the back, handing out t-shirts.

And yet, when the lead two racers came screaming by, followed about 30 seconds later by about 10 more riders, and then small packs and onesie twosies, it felt like I was in France for a second. I like it. I’ll be there Saturday, watching them come over Suncrest.

11 Responses to “today’s WTF moment, brought to you by the Tour of Utah”

  1. chtrich Says:

    so much potential….so little used.

  2. Bikemike Says:

    my guess is, if you can spit from your front door (i’ve never seen your house) to, at least, the curb, that’s some mighty fine spittin’.

  3. dug Says:

    bikemike, i must admit, i am not a high caliber spitter. i’ve actually been talked to by other cyclists on rides about my spitting. once i was the subject of a spitting intervention. but i can throw a rock a mile.

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    I know they’re busy running the race, but timely updates and results on the website are expected by the fans. The Intermountain Cup MTB races usually have results the next day. Pretty sad.

    And what about TV? Doesn’t that Miller guy own a TV station? They had some television coverage 2 years ago. Anything this year?

    OK, so it probably costs a lot to televise, but live text coverage should be easy – all you need is a smartphone like the iPhone.

    Ya, they’re race coverage is pretty crappy.

  5. Bikemike Says:

    take out beach volleyball in the olympics and put in the mile rock throw.

  6. KanyonKris Says:

    Bikemike: There are lower hanging fruit than beach volleyball. They had synchronized diving on the other night and I just starred at the TV dumbfounded thinking “of all the Olympic events, they’re broadcasting THIS!” NBC you rock!

  7. Bikemike Says:

    K.K. at least the women divers have “shape” to their bodies. between the “high fives(tens)” and butt slaps and the fact that the women have the bodies of thirteen year old boys, i’m sticking with ditching W.B.V.
    you’ve certainly presented an excellent case though.

  8. Jen Says:

    Spitting Intervention? Sounds like an interesting story!

  9. je Says:

    You expect live coverage of the Tour of Utah?

    Hmm, maybe next year I’ll work that into my arsenal and do live blog updates. Wonder what kind of traffic that would get?

  10. dug Says:

    je, you’ve misread, that’s not what i said. i went to the tour of utah official website the day AFTER the race had started, and the page said “check back in August.”

    a simple stage summary would have sufficed, a day after the stage concluded.


Leave a Reply

