leadville video

August 15, 2008

I have video from a bunch of different sources, Shelle’s little camera, Rick’s Flip, Holly’s video camera, and Kim’s video camera.

Some I could get to work in Pinnacle, some in Movie Maker, some no place, but never all of it in one place.

Finally I decided I’m no Coppola. Well, maybe I’m Sofia Coppola. Anyway, I chucked everything but the Flip, since it had the most race footage (as opposed to aid station footage, or start line footage, and really, you can get start line footage anywhere, and this is MY blog, MY video, and I’M the one who can’t get to sleep–I know you’re probably all done with Leadville by now, but when I get some time, I’ll try to mess with the disparate video sources yet again, and then you can see video of how close my friend Chuck was to Lance’s wheel into the Twin Lakes aid station).

So it’s all Flip all the time. Those of you who get nauseous from the hand held video effect might want to take a dramamine, or maybe skip it.

Ladies and gentlemen, highlights from Leadville 2008 (or more accurately, just the parts where I wasn’t too tired or too sick or too busy not crashing to hold the camera and turn it on):

17 Responses to “leadville video”

  1. Mocougfan Says:

    The man in plaid. So awesome. I’ve tried videoing whilst I ride. It’s a complete mess. Yours was way cool. Loved the musical selections as well.

    Awesome.

  2. Bikemike Says:

    Bill Smeegles of the Sumter S.C. freepress says…
    Engrossing! Thrill a minute ride! Don’t blink…you’ll miss it!

    bikemike says…cool video man. 40 m.p.h., pointing a camera at yourself, nice skills. put it on youtube.

  3. Mark Says:

    Excellent work! I can’t wait for the 2009 video.

  4. Rick S. Says:

    Nice filming. I’m not sure I would have wanted to bust out the camera going 40MPH let alone on the Columbine climb.

  5. Jay Says:

    That is so awesome! You are the coolest for doing that. I think you get to deduct several minutes for the effort. At the end, when you say “I am not going to die” I get all emotional and then that song too and then Kim at the end saying “you did it in 10:53…seriously emotional.

  6. b_banks Says:

    dude, that video was DOPE!

  7. KanyonKris Says:

    An amazing cinamatic achievement. Just like the Blair Witch Project ushered in a new style of cinematography, next year all the block busters will be sporting the dug flipcam style.

    But maybe we should all chip in and buy you a helmet cam.

  8. Jonnie Says:

    Dug –

    You are one hell of a video-bike-ographer. One handed skills are very impressive off road. Looks like good times. “I know how to quit Leadville” Phewwwww whatever. I will see you there next year. Bring your flip again.

    Jon

  9. Bob Says:

    The Beatles and Cake were fine, but Joan Baez? Personally, I would have gone with Peter, Paul, and Mary.

  10. Ricky Says:

    Nice! I feel like I was right there with you. In fact, I’m going to go ahead and say I did Leadville this year. Seriously, 40mph with one hand on an ss? What’s wrong with you?

  11. evilreview Says:

    when i’m doing something like this kind of race, i think “doing a video of this would be stupid.” you have shown that i am massively wrong. excellent work. full marks.

  12. bidivadbob Says:

    I recently discovered your blog and it quickly became one of my favorites. The video was really well done. I loved the soundtrack and it was great to see that you seemed to be having a good time, probably because you edited out the parts where you were too tired or too sick or too busy not crashing to hold the camera and turn it on. Congrats on your 10:53 finish.

  13. evilreview Says:

    why is there a doily icon by every comment in your blog? you don’t seem like a doily guy.

  14. dug Says:

    evil, i have many facets, not all of which you are privy to.

    i also don’t know why the doilies are there, or where they come from, or how to get ride of them.

    computers are crazy. sometimes i think they have a mind of their own.

  15. Eber Says:

    nice montage. who’s doing the helter skelter cover? how do you feel about sharing the mp3?


  16. […] have a couple of friends who have done this race a few times and through the miracle of technology filmed some of it last year.  One of these friends (Dug) also made it clear he wasn’t racing Leadville again.  Given […]

  17. Ben Says:

    Nice vid!

    Well, except for part highlighting the little pink basket you have attached to the front of your bike. I swear I saw a little pink basket… oh yeah, there it is – at time 1:16


Leave a Reply

