walking in my footsteps

September 3, 2008

I have lots of clever ideas for clever openers today.

“Remember that song from Chorus Line, Surprise! about how a guy does a thing that’s supposed to be really cool, and it isn’t so much, but then he does it again, and it totally rocks?”

Or

“We all want our kids to like what we like, and maybe grow up to be a little like us. Well, maybe not ALL of us. Dick Cheney probably doesn’t want that.”

Anyway, forget that. As I think I’ve mentioned once or twice, I like movies. And I get a little upset when my kids don’t like movies I like, or like movies I hate, and I feel very pleased when they love movies I love.

For example, my kids love Young Frankenstein. Yay.

This weekend, I decided it was time to watch Alien and Aliens, my favorite two space monster movies ever, with the boys. I’m not excluding Maddy from this–she’s self excluding. She loved The Dark Knight. She’s into thrilling, but not scary. Although, I really wish she would watch Alien and Aliens, because I would love for her to know that before Sarah Conner, there was Ellen Ripley. All girls should get to  know Ellen Ripley. But for now, I’ll settle for my boys getting to know her.

I LOVED Alien. It came out in 1979, and was the scariest thing I had ever seen. Me n the boys watched Alien Monday afternoon–we closed all the shades, turned off the lights, and settled in. They were a little underwhelmed. And you know, I was a little underwhelmed myself. I mean, it was good, it was scary, and very well done, not in the clumsy slasher manner of more recent films, much more subtle. But a little underwhelming nonetheless, not sure why.

Although, what a cast–Ian Holm, Sigourney Weaver, Harry Dean Stanton, Tom Skerritt, John Hurt, Veronica Cartwright, Yaphet Kotto, and directed by Ridley Scott. Nice.

And, by the way, seems like it was MUCH easier to get an R rating back then. Alien would be a mild PG-13 today.

Considering our positive, but fairly tepid response to Alien almost 30 years after its original release, I was a little concerned about the second half of the double-feature, Aliens.

I shouldn’t have doubted James Cameron. Aliens delivers the goods, in spades, and both boys were on the edge of their seats, and when it was over, both said it was one of the best movies they’d ever seen, and I have to agree.

Holden even said “when I go to space to fight aliens, I want to be like Ellen Ripley.” Yay.

Although Ian didn’t say that. He said “I want to be the queen Alien. She rocks.” Um. Yay?

3 Responses to “walking in my footsteps”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    My Dad took me and my brother to Rambo when we were like 12 years old. Rated R and lot’s of violence. Good times. It’s what Dad’s do.

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    When I was 12 I saw Jaws and it scared me good. Sometimes taking a bath I’d be sure a Great White would come up the drain and eat me. Two years later in Hawaii I had the opportunity to snorkel past Shark Cove to watch sharks, but Jaws was still lurking in my mind and I would not go. Now Jaws seems lame.

    I haven’t seen Alien or Aliens in years, time to watch them again. Good flicks.

    Maybe you should make a film: Fridge Aliens

  3. bikemike Says:

    i wanna see the planet of the creature they found in alien, where they got the first encounter. that was one big dude/dudette. i also wonder if said creatures planet did a movie about aliens from their perspective.

    we’ve seen their history with the predators but have yet to see the predator planet. heck we don’t know where the aliens originally came from. we (and by we, i mean I) need to know this stuff.

    good choice.


Leave a Reply

