fitter, happier, more productive

September 29, 2008

I love Bono and all, but it’s over. For the last 20 years U2 has been my favorite band, right up there with REM and Nirvana. But for the last half decade or so, either I’ve been getting weirder, more depressed, and more cynical, or, um, I guess I don’t know what the other possibility is–except I don’t think I’m getting weirder, more depressed, and more cynical.

It’s like Jeff Goldblum says in The Fly, when Geena Davis says “You’re getting worse.”

He replies, rather emphatically, and through gunk encrusted fly-like features “No! I’m getting BETTER!”

Radiohead is my new favorite band. Top of the heap. Suddenly I feel Fitter, Happier, More Productive.

I mean, I’ve liked Radiohead for years, I listen to them a lot, but my heart has always belonged to Bono and Michael Stipe. But no longer. Thom Yorke has won me over. At Elden’s house we were playing Rockband for the first time, and the only song I wanted to sing was “Creep.” (Although, before the song was half over, Kim put her drumsticks down and said “okay, just stop, I can’t listen to this anymore.”

And it’s not just this new stuff, In Rainbows. That’s great and all. But OK Computer has now bumped off Dark Side of the Moon as best album ever. And Exit Music (For a Film)–written for the ending credits of Baz Luhrmann’s Romeo and Juliet– has bumped off U2’s BAD as my favorite song ever.

Not sure how this happened. But I feel great about it. No regrets.

How do I love thee, Radiohead? I love it all.

12 Responses to “fitter, happier, more productive”

  1. bikemike Says:

    music, to me, is way higher on the list of things not to be trifled with. way above religion and politics. pretty much as long as names like brittany, bocepheus, cher, madonna and such are not mentioned, you’re free to your own individual likes. just don’t push it.

    also, i met Kenny at interbike and upon said meeting i inquired, “Dug?” and he said, “no, Kenny”.
    so, i’m sorry, but i’m not sure who it’s directed at.

  2. steve Says:

    How can you be fitter, happier and such with such depressing crap going through your ears? I’m with Kim! Enough!!

  3. b_banks Says:

    bumped off dark side?? Dude. c’mon now.

  4. Rob Says:

    Ahh…Thank you. Can’t stand U2, Bono and especially “The Edge?” How pretentious can a nick-name get?

    I alwasy thought I was just wrong in not liking them. (Since MTV, apple and American politics have proved me wrong.)

    Their music is boring and Bono needs to pick himself up a little and work on his self esteem.

  5. Rob Says:

    After re-reading your post, I realize that U2 is still probably in 2nd place…sorry to offend.

  6. VH1 Says:

    I thought Final Countdown by Europe was your favorite album

  7. bikemike Says:

    now i’m humming Final Countdown in my head…God, i hate that song.

  8. jp Says:

    I couldn’t agree more, radiohead is argubly not only the best band in the world at the moment but the most important….(i’m just saying). Dug if you havent already been there, NPR has radioheads’ most recent concert availabe as a free podcast. You’ll also find free concert podcasts from Tom Waits, The Black Keys, Iron & Wine, Fleet Foxes, My Morning jacket etc. etc…

    http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=15681603

  9. jruss Says:

    fake plastic trees

  10. BotchedExperiment Says:

    Anyone ever heard of the story of the king’s new clothes?

  11. dug Says:

    danny, are you going there? really? YOU? you’re dissin the radiohead?

    i’m gonna cut your leg ALL the way off.

  12. Rick S. Says:

    you’ve seen that Rhapsody commercial with the parents who pick up their son from school…all pimped out.

    It’s a fine line we walk. Just saying.


Leave a Reply

