recent pictures

October 22, 2008

I took Maddy to the doctor the other day to get tested for what might be causing her ongoing dizzyness. Don’t ask.

When I was a kid, we would have just made a dizzy joke, and moved on. These days you go to the doctor.

Anyway. He ran a bunch of tests, which looked remarkably like sobriety tests. I wish the state troopers would start using these for sobriety tests:

maddy one goggles

maddy two goggles

Oh, and bikemike, here’s from our quick trip to the Moab area from last month (as opposed to our quick trip to Zion National Park THIS month). I just want you to appreciate being so close to the ocean. And to the Manatees.

fam 1 arches

 

holden arches

13 Responses to “recent pictures”

  1. cheapie Says:

    we visited delicate arch this spring. let me tell you, it’s not exactly a relaxing hike bringing a 6yo, 4yo, and 1yo up there.

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    cheapie – I hear ya. I hauled the 3 year old up on my shoulders and we had a death grip on the younger kids going around that cliff on the back side.

    So when Mattie looks at you with that drunkenness simulator (aka beer goggles), do you look handsome? Oh, yes, make that MORE handsome.

    Good to see you sporting the cycling wear. What’s that green thing in the cargo pocket of your shorts – a toy or stuffed animal?

    Arches is cool.

  3. dug Says:

    kk, it’s a gatorade bottle. just try getting that little munchkin to carry his own gatorade.

  4. Lizzylou Says:

    I have been dizzy my entire life… I think I was first to the doctors when I was 3 years old, and they’ve given me every brain test in the book. Only to determine that for unexplainable reasons, I get very dizzy sometimes.

    Not to deliver bad news or anything, but I’ve never gotten a cure or a solution. I’ve just kind of gotten used to it.

  5. dug Says:

    lizzylou, you don’t mind if i delete your comment and pretend you never made it, do you?

  6. bikemike Says:

    hope Maddy checks out o.k.

    next thing you’re going to tell me is you live in relatively low humidity along with drop dead gorgeous scenery.

    we do have a herd (pod, gaggle, throng?) of manatees that hang out in one of the canals next to the power plant here in town. it’s kinda like getting excited by seeing cows standing out in a pasture, great if that’s what you’re into.

    thanks for the pics
    great to see families do things together. we went to IKEA in orlando this past weekend and had Swedish Meatballs, so, we’re just about even on the quality family time thing.

  7. cheapie Says:

    hey bikemike…going to be in orlando the week after turkey day. any singletrack worth bringing my bike down for?

  8. KanyonKris Says:

    This reminds me, I worked with an older guy who suddenly got vertigo. After tests they determined flakes of skin or broken off sensor hairs were floating around in the fluid in his inner ear causing him to feel that he was always tilting or spinning. He said it was horribly debilitating, which you can imagine. He felt nauseous a lot from the perceived motion. Partial relief was found by laying down and remaining still with his eyes open to help oppose the sensation of motion. All he could do is wait for the debris to go away – seemed like it took 6 months. I hope I never get that.

  9. bikemike Says:

    cheapie

    i live about 100 miles se of o-town, give the guys at Local Motion a call and see what’s in the area.
    developers from west palm, lauderdale, etc. have come up to where we are and developed all the land we had trails on. pretty much the rule in florida ( or definately indian river cty.) is, if it isn’t a golf course, we don’t care. have to drive two hours either way just for decent trails. sold my mtn. bike two years ago. sad, sad, state (county).

  10. Mocougfan Says:

    Cool pics Dug. Went to Archs with my dad, Chris, and his family last month. It was awesome. I loved the hikes. Loved the desert. Loved the openness of it.

  11. BotchedExperiment Says:

    Has Maddy tried drinking a glass of water while upside down and singing 99 bottles of (root)beer on the wall?

    Works everytime for me.

  12. steve Says:

    Sorry we didn’t hook to help maddy in Zions but stop by with her sometime. I need to get the family to arches. Any suggestions on wussy trails for the out of shape hiker and/or biker?

  13. dug Says:

    steve, do delicate arch. it’s like a mile and a half car to arch, uphill, then a mile back to the car. you lose a half mile because it’s downhill on the way back.

    it’s a great family hike, just watch the kids a bit at the top.

    also, sand dune arch, it’s a quarter mile, you can actually get on top of the arch, and lots of sand to play in. don’t jump off the arch. that would be bad.

    don’t go without us.


Leave a Reply

