ode to harmons

November 6, 2008

At Suncrest we used to have a little neighborhood market, which was handy.

But last summer Harmons opened a store at the bottom of the hill, and it was like someone had moved a combination of the Taj Mahal and the Hanging Gardens of Babylon into the neighborhood.

How do I love thee Harmons? Let me count the ways.

harmons entrance

First, foremost, head of the class–Gelato. I’ve been to Italy several times to ski, but it’s not the snow that keeps me going back, it’s the gelato. Florence has the best gelato in the world, but the gelato at my local Harmons is pretty close. Yum. You walk into Harmons, and right there, front and center, is the gelato stand. Which is also part of the hot chocolate stand.

Which is the second reason for loving Harmons–delicious hot chocolate, with friendly barristas who remember your name.

Here’s a picture of the gelato/hot chocolate stand:

harmons hot chocolate gelato

At least once a week, I stop at Harmons on the way to work, grab a hot chocolate, and head over to the sushi bar and grab a spicy california roll to go.

Yup, sushi. Of course I know that the california roll is the hamburger of sushi–but is there any other kind of sushi you would trust your grocery store, even one as sweet as my Harmons, to make for you? Especially “to go”? (No, is the proper answer.)

And check this out, they a have a bistro. That is to say, a chic little restaurant in the loft. They also have a culinary school. And a Wok bar. And. And. And lots more.

harmons bistro

Once, we went to a movie with friends, stopped by the Harmons on the way home to get some necessities, of course had gelato, and then went up those stairs, because you know what else they have up there? A fireplace with couches. Seriously.

They have more cheese than can possibly be real, a great little flower shop, unbelievably good snickerdoodles, and a chocolate/white macadamia bread loaf that you can just eat plain on the way home.

Sometimes I just wander the aisles. Don’t need anything, just a gelato and a cart. “No, no, nothing today thanks, just browsing.”

I love my Harmons.

harmons front

14 Responses to “ode to harmons”

  1. bikemike Says:

    how are their bathrooms…do you need your own t.p…are they clean…do they have bug feces in their vents?
    we’re going to need a full report before we get all googoo over this starbucks on steroids.

  2. andy Says:

    i gotta confess. i’ve never had gelatto. good stuff i’m assuming?

  3. steve Says:

    be careful, I hear everyone has bug feces in their vents and ducts!! No wonder we never see you guys, you don’t need to come down off your hill.

  4. Jay Says:

    Love my Harmons. Cheese lovers dream. They even have Callebaut chocolate that I use to dip chocolates. Sushi is yummy…prepared fresh everyday. Homemade frosted sugar cookies…you must try.

  5. brkeyes7 Says:

    Let’s meet for some hot chocolate.

  6. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    Man, I’m jealous. Where I live, which is about 200 miles due East of NOWHERE, we have Wal-Mart or, of course, Wal-Mart. Seriously. I live a few miles from Wal-Mart’s World Headquarters. What was I thinking?

  7. KanyonKris Says:

    Yesterday I felt I lived in a nice area, now it’s a slum because our Harmons is so plain.

    Hypothetically, if something where to “happen” to my Harmons, do you think they’d rebuild it in the deluxe style like Draper?

    • skimoab Says:

      Kris if you’re talking about the one on 800n 800e, it’s still nicer than any other grocery store in Utah Valley. 🙂 My wife and I live in South Provo and we drive all the way to that Harmon’s for our shopping.

  8. chtrich Says:

    And next week you get a Smith’s down the other side of your mountain. Not that’ll compare to Harmon’s, but I’m just saying you’ll have choices.

  9. Erin Says:

    You have a FANCY Harmons. Nice. I love our little ghetto one because it has an entire row of things from England- my favorite chocolate and sauces, and yes, even tasty curries. (Curries from England from India.) They also have a really good assortment of gluten-free foods, which are sometimes hard to find.

  10. Mocougfan Says:

    I’m with Burke. We have a Wal-Mart. I’m jealous.

    Hey Burke…. what state do you live in?

  11. b_banks Says:

    That Harmons is DOPE!

  12. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    Mocougfan, I just saw your question – I live in Northwest Arkansas. We have great scenery and some dreamy mountain bike trails – just no real selection in grocery stores.


  13. To some, loving a grocery store enough to go there for no reason would sound weird. But seriously, this one’s awesome. I’ve always hated grocery shopping until they built this Harmon’s – gelateria, cheese samples foisted on you, ultra helpful employees who will spend 25 minutes telling you everything they know about energy bars…

    It’s heaven.


Leave a Reply

