today’s WTF moment brought to you by a random bathroom at the university of utah

November 18, 2008

I had a meeting with a potential customer up at the University of Utah yesterday. My 2 colleagues and I were a tich early, and there were only two chairs in the small waiting area, so I asked the receptionist if there was a restroom nearby.

(Now, I don’t want you getting the impression that I go to the bathroom when I’m bored, or just happen to have a minute. No, I go to the bathroom when I have to pee. Or poo. There, I said it. When do YOU go?)

Turns out there WAS a restroom nearby, just down the hall and around the corner.

Just an example of what we in the business (of using restrooms) call a “one-hole” or a “lockable.” You know. One you use by yourself, no fellow travelers. At least none without your permission.

Anyway. Here it is:

U of U Bathroom Chair

Can you see where I’m going with this? Please tell me you do.

What the HELL is that chair for?

I mean, I have  few ideas.

Like, maybe you have a child with you, and you need somewhere for the child to sit. Or for YOU to sit. Maybe. But this is a professional building in the technology area of a University. This happens a lot?

Or. Or maybe you have just taken a laxative, and you’re waiting for it to kick in, but you don’t want to wait in the hall, because someone might be occupying the bathroom when it DOES kick in, and you don’t want to sit on the toilet while you wait because you might get a hemorrhoid. In which case, go the hell home.

But seriously. What?

38 Responses to “today’s WTF moment brought to you by a random bathroom at the university of utah”

  1. bikemike Says:

    nope, i got nothin’

  2. Clayton Says:

    Maybe you can use the chair as an ottoman when your sitting there taking care of business.

  3. Eric Says:

    I dislike the tp dispenser and the placement of it. It’s too low and far away. Too much bending over and reaching would be needed for a job requiring a lot of paperwork. I don’t see a plunger in the picture. Not good due that toilet model. Any non-industrial toilet needs a plunger nearby.

  4. Rick S. Says:

    At least the chair isn’t positioned adjacent to the toilet.

  5. Bob Says:

    lactation chair.

  6. Jeff Says:

    Maybe people use that bathroom to change their clothes and the chair is there as an alternative to sitting on the toilet seat?

    I’m pretty sure I’m right, so you can go ahead and award me the pink “Dug WTF Moment” cycling jersey.

  7. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    Maybe they have cyclists there that use the restroom as a changing room? That’s what I have to do, sans chair.

    Or, perhaps they take the title of ‘restroom’ literally and use the chair to, you know, rest.

  8. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    Wow, Jeff, that was some pretty freaky synchronized thinking we had there.

  9. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    Wow, Jeff, that was some pretty freaky synchronized thinking we had there.

  10. VA Biker Says:

    Maybe a regular user with disabilities has had the chair placed there as place to put stuff while using the toilet? I could see it, you’re in your wheelchair, traveling around the university, you’ve got a personal bag of stuff. Where does it go when you’ve gotta’ go? Into the stall with you, that’s where. Would you put it on the floor?

    Someone is using the stall as a changing area and has placed the chair there for stuff stowage while changing?

  11. Mocougfan Says:

    I’m with Jeff and Burke. It doubles as a changing area.

    A stinky changing area.

  12. Jot Says:

    Maybe it’s so people who have meetings with three people and only two chairs, know where to get a chair from.

    -Jot

  13. dug Says:

    jot. that’s just icky.

  14. KanyonKris Says:

    Changing room is my vote too.

    We have a small bench in our restroom for me to change clothes (i.e. lunch rides). But it is solid surface – no fabric. Fabric and upholstery in a bathroom makes me nervous – I see germ metropolis, and I’m no germaphobe. That room looks like you could hose it down with bleach, but the chair says that ain’t happenin’.

  15. bikemike Says:

    i know i said nuthin’ but i lied. i’m fairly certain it’s an alien landing site, i mean, i saw Men in Black, it’s possible, right?

  16. KanyonKris Says:

    Jot has inspired me to change my answer:

    The chair is where you put you lunch. Bring in that value meal, lay it out and dine in peace while you do your business. Kill two birds with one stone. Did you see any french fry salt or sauce in the seat fabric?

  17. fish Says:

    That’s the funniest thing I’ve read in November. Thanks, Dug.

  18. ricky Says:

    it’s so much easier to carry on a conversation when there’s a chair in the room. even if nobody’s sitting on it.


  19. I’ve always been secretly jealous that the women get a couch in their restrooms. Maybe this is equality at its best.

  20. steve Says:

    I think they knew you were coming. I mean, your blog is famous right? Someone has obviously picked up on your finiky (how the heck would YOU spell that, and it’s a cool word) bathroom observations and wanted to get their bathroom onto your blog. Otherwise I am going with the MIB portal.

  21. paul Says:

    You could also use it as a convenient place to set your personal roll of triple-ply ultra soft Charmin. I assume you brought that with you.

  22. forgingahead Says:

    I would *so* NOT sit on that chair. Creeps me out.

  23. BotchedExperiment Says:

    Maybe the chair is there to encourage a more collaborative working environment. I hear ‘cross germination’ is all the rage in business administration.

  24. lin Says:

    Women need a place to put their stuff, like a purse or a coat, for example, and who wants to put it on a germy bathroom floor or wet sink? Not me. At our company in the ladies’ room we used to have a “swooning couch”, at least that’s what my much older boss called it, because apparently back in the “old days” women went around swooning and fainting all the time before buildings were air conditioned and needed a place to rest. Maybe it’s a Southern thing, with our heat and humidity.

  25. UtRider Says:

    One of my part time jobs while going to school was cleaning bathrooms in the Richards PE building at BYU. One thing I learned was that people do on occassion have a snack while taking care of business. The interesting part was who – the majority of the wrappers, popsicle sticks, etc. we found were in the sanitary boxes in the WOMEN’S bathroom stalls. Who would have thought?

  26. tonks Says:

    Your penchant for/obsession with potty picture-taking is slightly disturbing.

    Bob pegged it. It’s a lactation chair. (I thought about saying, “Not to be too graphic” but then thought better of it considering the content of your post) It’s for nursing moms who may also work and need to pump during work hours. As gross as it sounds to pump while sitting on a chair in the bathroom, it’s way worse to do it while sitting on the pot. So, instead of checking for fry sauce stains…

  27. Brandon Says:

    Are you sure you were not in the “Ladies” restroom? I say the chair is for one of the girls to sit on and gossip while they do whatever it is they all do as a group in the restroom.

  28. Mocougfan Says:

    just curious…. do you get a Hem Roid or a Hem Er Roid if you sit there too long?

  29. Technomom Says:

    Since it’s in a tech area, it’s _obviously_ a place to set your laptop so you can work while you poo!

  30. Rich Says:

    The U is known for it’s research. Perhaps it is there for just such a thing, observation? That would be a real shitty job.

  31. Rich Says:

    The U is known for it’s research. Perhaps it is there for just such a thing, observation? That would be a real crappy job.

  32. Rich Says:

    Oops thought better of swearing and re-posted…my bad

  33. Andy in WV Says:

    This is freakin’ hilarious. A coworker and I was traveling to Southwestern Virginia for an inspection and stopped a restaurant in the middle of nowhere called Rusty Fork. They had the same set-up in their bathroom.

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/barbour/298282881/

  34. Anonymous Says:

    You have too much time on your hands.

  35. dug Says:

    anon, uh huh. how much time do you think it took me to take that picture? and to post it to this blog?

    right. about as long as it took you to read it and then comment.

  36. AR Says:

    Hey, that’s my bathroom (no really, it is!). I should ask our building manager.

  37. JB Says:

    Maybe for its for nursing mothers? Not sure though.

  38. Genevieve Says:

    Haha my aunt works there and emailed me the link to this post. I need to take a trip out to SLC and visit this bathroom!😄


Leave a Reply

