grazing

November 26, 2008

When I was a kid, I loved candy more than anything in the world. M&Ms. Twizzler Bites. Starburst. Reeses Peanut Butter Cups. Butterfingers.

I’m different now. Because now I don’t keep candy under my pillow.

But when I was a kid, well, I DID keep candy under my pillow. I would buy or scrounge a one pound bag of M&Ms and dump them, yes, under my pillow. I would buy a big bag of Starburst, unwrap each individual piece and dump them, yes, under my pillow. Same for Twizzler Bites. NOT the same for the peanut butter cups or butterfingers. That would be gross.

During the night, I would wake up at regular intervals, munch a bit, and go blissfully back to sleep, and dream of Willy Wonka.

Sometimes the M&Ms would slide down from under my pillow and end up under me in melted circles. I can only imagine how puzzled my mom would be by the weird green, red, and yellow rings on my blankets and sheets. We never talked about it. Now that I’m a parent I can understand why that’s a conversation you’d never want to have.

Of course, as an adult, I would NEVER put candy under my pillow. For one, Kim has bionic ears and she would notice the crunching. For crying out loud, when I go downstairs to eat Reeses Puffs at two in the morning, she can hear THAT from upstairs in bed.

Because, that’s what I do now that I’m all growed up–I get up at 2 am, almost every night, wander downstairs, and eat  a bowl of whatever yummy cereal we have in the cupboard. Preferably Reeses Puffs, because that’s like eating little peanut butter cups in milk.

If there are cookies in the kitchen, well, they won’t be there in the morning. The kids have started complaining about it. “Hey mom, make sure dad doesn’t eat all of these tonight.” Ha. Like that’s gonna protect the cookies.

This is where I do it:

kitchen night reading place

I stand at the far end of the kitchen bar, eat my cereal, and read my Economist.

It’s a little bit of ME time.

Oh, and for those of you living in the houses up the hill from that window, um, sorry. I’ll try to be less naked in the future.

9 Responses to “grazing”

  1. Rob Says:

    A previous post of yours belies your statement that you read the Economist…You read US don’t you?

    https://suncrestdug.wordpress.com/2008/05/14/i-am-as-bad-as-they-are/

  2. Mocougfan Says:

    Brush and Floss candy boy.

  3. SteveA Says:

    Yeah Dug, make sure you brush and floss. If you don’t you might get a root canal or caps or dentures or something like that!! 😉

  4. Anonymous Says:

    how much weight do you think you’ll gain this weekend,buddy?

  5. bikemike Says:

    uhh, yeah, that last post was me.
    i also read somewhere (the internet) that chocolate frosting that tastes like fudge has no calories…who’da thought it. indulge.

  6. tonks Says:

    Note to self: Next time you are awake at 2am, which happens 2-3 times a week, do NOT, I repeat, DO NOT glance out the window in Dug’s house’s general direction. Got it? Got it.

  7. KanyonKris Says:

    Good to know I’m not the only adult who eats “kids” cereal. Honey Combs, Lucky Charms, Cheerios. I do eat a few grown-up cereals like Honey Bunches Oats, Rice Chex and Raisin Bran.

  8. Kathleen Says:

    That is one serious sweet tooth you have…makes me look like an amateur and that’s no easy thing.

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

    Enjoy the chocolate cake/frosting. Sounds heavenly


  9. I’ve never put candy under my pillow before, but I think about candy on average 37 times a day. I’ve blogged about candy twice in the last week or so. I feel that shows restraint on my part. I am SO excited that the Christmas candy is here! It’s nice to know I’m not alone in my cravings for sweets.


Leave a Reply

