how was your morning?

December 16, 2008

So (I do so love beginning not only sentences, not only paragraphs, but entire blog posts with “so”) I got up at 6:30 to snowblow the fresh several inches of snow off the driveway, showered, then headed down to Alpine to visit the dentist.

“Why are you going to the dentist AGAIN dug?” I can hear you asking your monitor as you read this.

Well I’ll tell you.

I have teeth made of putty. This has  nothing to do with my former practice of hiding candy under my pillow as a kid, nor of my current penchant (hi Jeff!) for eating every cookie I can get my hands on. My teeth are just made of putty. The rest is coincidence. I brush and floss every day. Well, I brush a couple times a day, and I floss every day. Let’s just shorten that to “I brush and floss every day.” Maybe I’m perseverating too much here.

I have put off going to the dentist for a bit, not because I dislike my dentist (he’s a perfectly nice person), but because I know that every time I go to the dentist, he’ll tell me he needs to give me a new mouth. I’m currently shopping for a dentist who won’t tell me this. You know, lie to me. Please.

Anyway. I headed down the south side of Suncrest, because my dentist is in Alpine. Driving my fairly new Subaru Outback (I know, I’m supposed to wear hemp and buy all my clothes at REI–I’m working on that), I got sideways twice. I had to pull over and let a row of SUVs pass me. So I got to the dentist a bit gripped. Sketched, if you will.

Two months ago, he told me I needed FOUR crowns. He prepped two, and gave me a filling for good measure, then two weeks later, put two permanents on and prepped the other two.

And, for the last two weeks I’ve been living on about 10,000 milligrams of Ibuprofen a day.

So this morning he went to put on the final two permanents, and I casually mentioned my vitamin “I” addiction, and he said “yeah, looking at the X-Ray, I’m surprised you didn’t call me for drugs a week ago.”

Oh really? Well, thanks.

Instead of plopping those two permanents on this morning, then, he put the temporaries back on, scheduled me for Friday morning at 7:30, for a ROOT CANAL, followed by him putting the permanents on.

Yay me.

I topped off my morning by stopping at Discount Tire and getting some snow tires. I decided against the metal studs. Why should I get rid of ALL my anxiety?

18 Responses to “how was your morning?”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Insult to injury – nice DDS.

    Root canals are tedious, but not that bad. Unless you don’t get numb – that wasn’t fun. Maybe I shouldn’t have mentioned that.

    Well, with all that excitement out of the way, odds are the rest of your day will be zippity do da.

    And look, there’s snow in them thar hills! Doesn’t that make you happy?

  2. steve Says:

    Dude, if you are going to get snow tires get the studs on them, you will be glad you did. They are so worth it. I had them in Montana and they worked GREAT! They also sound cool driving down the road. Oh, and sorry about your morning. What were we talking about again? Oh, the draper descent.

  3. bikemike Says:

    stephen ROOT, of News Radio/Office Space fame, used to live right here in Vero Beach, Fla. There are also many CANALS that run through the county into the Indian River/Atlantic Ocean. i’m assuming this isn’t the root canal of which you speak. the caffine is wearing off and the rambling has begun. sorry.

    ask for as much goofy gas as it would take to knock shaquille o’neal out, that’s how you enjoy a root canal.

  4. Eber Says:

    agreed…stock subaru tires are junk in the snow. my next subaru I am buying without the tires and driving straight down to les schwab in all my rim sparking glory.

  5. Rick S. Says:

    I kept telling my kids this morning as I drove down the hill, “this old lady in front of me really needs to pull over and let us by”. I had no idea it was you. Sorry if Seth flipped you off. He does that.

  6. MOCougFan Says:

    I don’t know what your whinning about. A guys got to make a living. What’s wrong with a couple extra RC’s?

    After all it’s the holidays!

  7. b_banks Says:

    mouth pain is the queen of all bitches…………

  8. BotchedExperiment Says:

    When I was 32, I got a dental discount plan through my graduate school. Like you, I had been avoiding going to the dentist ONLY becuase it’s always bad news and depressing.

    Anyhoo, after he was done frowning (examining my teeth), I asked him what he thought. You know, just to break the ice.

    “Well, you have the teeth of a 60 year old.”

    I didn’t go back to a dentist for 5 years.

  9. BotchedExperiment Says:

    BTW, I just got snow tires for the old accord. WOW, what a difference. It’s just amazing.

  10. JB Says:

    How about always being nagged by the hygientist about flossing and brushing properly. If you talk back or dispute….she makes you bleed….alot.
    Don’t worry about your drive Dug, and hemp is actually bad for the environment and to shop at REI takes LOTS of money. Tomorrow morning will be another day!

  11. Erinb Says:

    My husband’s new Subaru has crap tires too. He may be getting tires for Christmas. Nothing says, “I love you honey!” like a new set of tires. I also had a whammo of a dentist appointment last time. Haven’t been back to get the work done yet. Maybe my husband will get me dental work for Christmas. One could always hope!

  12. Rachel Says:

    My husband has perfect teeth and has never had a cavity, though he did have a root canal due to a friendly football game-inflicted injury resulting in a jaw infection. I’ve always been the opposite, with one of my worst childhood memories being the day my dentist told me and my mom, “She has 9 cavities.” All at once, and just for that year. If we had compared teeth while dating, he would have rejected me.

    Of course, my kids have never had cavities. I definitely married up.

  13. forgingahead Says:

    Ouch. Seriously, you must have some high tolerance for pain. I hear root canals aren’t really as bad as everyone says…

  14. Kt Says:

    Oh geez, you guys.

    Studs? No.

    Look, I’ve got a Forester. I’ve got a set of good snow tires. I haven’t been able to get it to step out at all, except in that empty parking lot where I really really worked hard at it.

    The only time studs are worth anything is if you have lots and lots of days with pure ice. Studs are worthless on just snow. And wet pavement? Talk about sketchy!!

    Seriously, though. Don’t expect your regular (aka “summer”) tires to perform at all on snow. Definitely get some snow tires. When they get about 50% worn, get some new tires.

    Oh, and dug: sorry about your teeth… maybe Santa will bring you some new ones?

  15. tonks Says:

    The other day, the first one with all the bad snow, where cars were pulled off to the side of the road, I commented to Paul that he obviously loves me more than other people love their spouses b/c he got me some kick-butt snow tires. They’re SO worth it.

    My teeth are also putty and root canals suck, but a root canal through a crown is worse than having it done before the crown gets put on. And cheaper too. I got me some 800 mg ibuprofen in the cupboard-call me if you need a fix.

  16. Jo Says:

    Um…. Dug- What about those 2 am feedings on sugary cereal? I don’t know about you, but I don’t re-brush when I eat in the middle of the night.

  17. dug Says:

    rachel, that’s setting the bar for marrying up a little low, isn’t it? i’m not saying you didn’t, i’m just saying, maybe good teeth isn’t the best criteria for that.

    kt, you’ll notice i DID get some snow tires and PASSED on the studs. we’re on the same page.

    jo, i don’t know what you’re talking about. no idea.

  18. Jeff Says:

    I too have a penchant for cookies. Mmm…cookies. I’m beginning to wonder if penchant is even a word.


Leave a Reply

