oh how the mighty have fallen

December 22, 2008

As little as a year ago, I would have bet you $50 this would NOT have happened. I’m not sure what has changed in the last year, but I’ve got some work to do.

Yesterday, me n Kim n the kids went up to my brother’s house in Park City, met up with two other brothers and their kids, and my mom. We had ribs.

Yada yada yada.

We also had cake. Chocolate cake with some special chocolate fudge frosting.

(Do you say “frosting” or “icing”? I think I grew up saying “icing” but now that I’ve lived West for 20 years, I say “frosting” although I’m not sure it’s natural. It doesn’t feel natural, it feels forced. Anyway.)

Anyway. We’re sitting around the table, enjoying our chocolate cake with special chocolate fudge frosting, and my mom leans over and hands Steve her frosting.

SHE HANDED STEVE HER FROSTING!

I said, “Hey! HEY! When did HE become the favorite?” Mom didn’t even look up.

My brother Rob and I went back into the kitchen and ate all the frosting off the rest of the cake to console ourselves. And I’m thinking of having Steve killed.

18 Responses to “oh how the mighty have fallen”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    My condolences on your demotion.

    But objectively, I’ll bet your retreat to the kitchen netted you more frosting than the Mom give-away – am I right? Just trying to console you with a little silver lining.

  2. Rick S. Says:

    i know people, I’m very clean, and my fees are small.

  3. Kathleen Says:

    That is tragic. What did you do to irk your mom? I bet it’s the way you put on your shoes – without untying them🙂

  4. steveA Says:

    Dug, how do you type Na na na na etc,? Besides, YOU didn’t even blink when I gave you half my daughters icing to help console, apparently AFTER you had already demolished the rest of the cake BEFORE your niece could get a piece!!

    Rick S. The Chupacabra and I have an understanding and it has no feelings. It doesn’t charge a fee! And it will be messy!

  5. Rob Says:

    But will the chupacabra say cool things like; “It’s 30 mintues away…I’ll be there in 10.”

  6. steveA Says:

    No speaking. He waits for his indian friend to say “now spit” and all heck breaks loose. Try that movie quote on for size.

  7. bikemike Says:

    i have a brother named Steve and i’ve wanted him “taken care of” on numerous occasions. it must be the name.

  8. dug Says:

    steve, i was pretty shaken up, is all i can say, which doesn’t excuse my actions, but does explain them.

    plus, my niece had had at least 5 minutes to get her hands on some cake with frosting. neener.

  9. Rob Says:

    Outlaw Josey Wales…

  10. steveA Says:

    dug, I can understand that it’s hard to be replaced at the top of the favorite chain. All I can say is it must be related to proximity.

    bikemike, easy on the kill the steve’s theme!! Our mothers blessed us with that name, we did not choose to carry that burden!

    Rob, dude, that was good. I tend to think of the Eastwood westerns as the James Bond’s of the wild west.

  11. bikemike Says:

    sorry Steve, by “taken care of”, i didn’t mean kill. i was thinking something more along the lines of “The Count of Monte Cristo”. you know, long years of imprisonment with crappy food and very little water.

    my deathwish list is very short but extremely distinguished.

  12. VA Biker Says:

    Hmmm, either “icing” or “frosting” work. I use both, but icing used to refer to that runny, thin stuff that went on bundt cakes, and frosting referred to the thick kind that was on top of cup cakes and “store bought” fancy cakes…

    Why would you mother do that you do you? Maybe you should reflect on that photo you showed the world on 02 December 2008?

    RE: https://suncrestdug.wordpress.com/2008/12/02/turkey-has-skin-too/

  13. TG Says:

    Any chance of sharing the recipe for this frosting?

  14. Rob (dug's brother) Says:

    uh… favorite??? I don’t THINK so…

    Course, in either case (not saying you are the favorite here), there was certainly a demotion that took place.

    VA Biker: by your definition, this is certainly frosting. And a little bit of heaven.

    KanyonKris: A whole gallon sized ice cream container’s worth of this yummy stuff isn’t the same as learning of this demotion. Well.. let me think about that… On second thought, Dug and I will have to get back to you on that.

  15. Rob (dug's brother) Says:

    oh, and don’t anyone think that the previous comment to KanyonKris was in any way an admission of the preposterous idea that dug was, is, or will be the favorite.

  16. bikemike Says:

    Rob (dug’s brother) if i was an outsider looking in (i am), i would have to say that, in dug’s mind, he is the hands down favorite with mom. i predict interesting Christmas dinner foder and quite possibly irrational acts on the part of many (if not all) family members. a detailed report and/or pictures would be welcome holiday viewing by us all.

    i’m going to have to take dug’s side on this (it’s his blog) until i have evidence otherwise.
    Merry Christmas and Happy Desert debate to one and all.

  17. steveA Says:

    I win. Mom gave me the frosting without batting an eye in either Dug or Rob’s direction or acknowledging their protests. There’s your evidence. Plus, she told me so.

  18. Rob (dug's brother) Says:

    SteveA: your mom’s a big fat liar then. Hmph


Leave a Reply

