you should call rob

January 12, 2009

A loooong time ago, back when I lived in Minnesota, my Mom told me that my cousin Ronnie had called her from the airport. She thought that was sweet, because Ronnie lived in Lethbridge, Alberta, and had a stopover in Minneapolis. I agreed that it was sweet, but I remember being a little puzzled as to how his calling her from the airport made him sweet.

Until our Mexico trip. On the way down, we stayed with friends in Phoenix, and on the way back, stayed again, in Phoenix. On the return, while we were laying around at our friend’s house, Rick S texted me.

“You should call Rob (Rick S’s brother). He’s staying right down the street from you.”

And normally, this would make perfect sense. I really like Rob. I would enjoy talking to him, or even going to, say, Taco Bell with Rob.

On the other hand, in Utah, I actually live about 3 miles from Rob. That is, our actual houses are THREE miles apart.

So why, when we’re in Phoenix, with our respective families, staying with our respective friends, would we “call each other” and go get Taco Bell?

I mean, I ski with Rob. I bike with Rob. And sometimes, we hang out.

But suddenly, because we’re like a thousand miles from home, we should “call each other?”

People are weird, man.

Hey Rick. Call me.

20 Responses to “you should call rob”

  1. Olivia Says:

    You cracked me up with this one. And it’s so weirdly true. I had the same thing happen when a friend and I both happened to be visiting New York City. Another friend tried to talk me into calling her for dinner since we were both “in the East” together. But we weren’t there together, just at the same time. Very strange! I didn’t call either.

  2. Rick S. Says:

    This post is going to cost you a plate of cookies (and a phone call).
    You could have at least sent a text. Sheesh.

  3. forgingahead Says:

    People are weird. And methinks you might be somewhere on that continuum what with the fixation on all things toilet. But then that’s what makes us humans so darn fascinating. Right? Or not.

  4. MOCougFan Says:

    With cell phones et all… we’re never really to far away. Old people just don’t realize that.

  5. BotchedExperiment Says:

    When I’m visiting back home in Missouri I call people that I don’t normally call when not visiting Missouri. I don’t go see them; I just call them. Why? I don’t know. The phones work just as well when calling from Utah to Missouri as they do when calling within Missouri.

    “Hi, it’s Dan. We haven’t talked in two years, but I’m in Missouri, so I thought I’d give you a call. Yesterday, I was in Utah and I could have called you, but instead I waited until I was in Missouri. Goodby.”

  6. dug Says:

    rick, you’ll have to actually COME TO MY HOUSE to get the cookies, but i’d be happy to provide them.

    and rob, if you’re reading, i’m sorry. I’M SORRY! let’s get some pho. locally.

    botched. we’re on the same page man.

  7. MOCougFan Says:

    Botched… Next time your in Missouri you can call me. I’ll understand.

  8. bikemike Says:

    my guess is, Rob, has the toilet flushy handle thingy on the left-hand side, hence, the no-call.

  9. Rob Says:

    I guess the difference is that when he told me that you were in phoenix, I sat anxiously on my hands waiting for the call…alas, nothing.

  10. dug Says:

    rob, that’s how i sat last night when he told me you might call about getting out skiing today. alas, nothing.

    maybe RICK is the problem.

  11. bikemike Says:

    my guess is, Rick, has the toilet flushy handle thingy on the left-hand side, hence, the problem.

  12. Rob Says:

    I texted you last night about skiing today…I don’t think you get my texts. This has happened before.

    I’m going to try again right now (but not about skiing before work today.)

  13. MOCougFan Says:

    Ah Rob…. I’m guessing dug is skiing right now. Sorry brother.

  14. KanyonKris Says:

    But there’s something to be said for the fact that Rick thought of you and another friend of yours that’s in your vicinity.

    So even though the wonders of modern telecommunications makes proximity a non-issue, you shouldn’t loose sight of the fact that a few people still like you enough to want to communicate with you.

    But I’m not going to get on your case because I’m guilt of the same thing: getting hung up on the illogical aspects and forgetting the social implications.

    But it does make for good blog fodder.

  15. KanyonKris Says:

    Don’t listen to me. I just did a blog post on caulking.

    (Caulk is an awkward word.)

  16. mark Says:

    i’m currently sitting on my hands anxiously awaiting the text about pho. but not today ‘cuz i already ate lunch. maybe ski tomorrow and pho thursday?

  17. tohellandback1st Says:

    MOcougfan: we realize that cell phones have pretty much put everyone that wants to be right next to us, it’s just that sometimes, we like having the option of being too far away…

  18. dug Says:

    kris, um, did you say something?

  19. mary Says:

    KanyonKris: I just went to your blog to read your post about caulking. Never underestimate the importance of the mundane post. I am totally intimidated by the caulking job that awaits me in our master bath. Your post has given me the courage to tackle the project … sometime real soon.

  20. steveA Says:

    Hey Dug, call me as I drive through Draper would ya? I would’t want to impose if you’re busy so try and guess when I am going through and give me a shout. Usually about 5:30 but today is looking promising for about 4:45, 5


Leave a Reply

