missing the wave

January 23, 2009

I have no fashion sense. Hey, if you say that with a bit of a Spanish accent, it sounds kind of like “Because he has no strenth.” Huh.

Anyway. I have no fashion sense. Really, none. I’m a jeans and a t-shirt kind of guy in the winter, and a shorts and flip flops guy in the summer. I prefer a sweatshirt to a coat, and a beanie to hair.

Although, even I can look at some things and, as the song goes, say “hmmmm.”

I say I’m qualified, because I have a Mexican Wedding Shirt. That’s what my sister called my shirt when I took her to go see Slumdog Millionaire last week. She got in the car, did kind of a double take, chuckled to herself, and said under her breath (but not so quietly that I couldn’t hear her) “oh, it’s a Mexican wedding shirt.” Meaning that it has embroidery all over it. And, um, I guess one could wear it to a Mexican wedding?

Here is the shirt (made by London Laundry, by the way, and NOT in Mexico):

mexican shirt

Obviously, I didn’t pick it out. I don’t pick out anything that doesn’t involve jeans or shorts and a t-shirt or sweatshirt. I come out of the closet wearing something, and just look at Kim, who looks me up and down, and either nods or shakes her head. No words are exchanged. It’s a lot like a pitcher and catcher exchanging signals for the next pitch.

Anyway, while I don’t have much fashion sense, at least I DO have someone shaking me off when I’m serving up an 85mph fastball to David Ortiz.

This woman, unfortunately, isn’t so lucky.

pink and socks

On the other hand, maybe I’ve missed an entire wave. It’s not like I would notice.

But did the wave HAVE to include those ankle thingies?

22 Responses to “missing the wave”

  1. Rachel Says:

    well, you do live in UT.

  2. evilreview Says:

    i think those are knee warmers that have lost their strenth.

  3. Andrea R Says:

    Mark, I’m so totally disturbed by the link you posted. Is my age showing? Or is it because I’m Canadian?

  4. dug Says:

    mark, you gotta have a PACK to have any steeze. there is no solo steeze.

    now if there were like, say, five of them in those pink shirts and ankle thingies, THAT would be STEEZE!

  5. MOCougFan Says:

    Seriously it cracks me up that you just take random pictures of people and stuff and post it on here. Love it. Never know exactly whom or what I will see. I, on the other hand, would be afraid that someone next to me would notice me taking pics of people and call me out on it.

    Awesome.

  6. MOCougFan Says:

    If I might add. As for your fashion sense… most pictures I see of you includes plaid shorts and black socks.

  7. tonks Says:

    I think I know that lady. Pay me $20 bucks and I will not point her to your blog…

  8. dug Says:

    that’s funny tonks. what, you frequent the west valley costco?

    nothing would make me happier than to have that woman read this post. well, maybe there are some things that would make me happier. but it would make me happy.

    i’ll give you $20 if you DO find her and point her here.

  9. Anonymous Says:

    what, you can’t smile? Who are you Doug Lou Ellen (People’s Court. They guy who never showed his teeth….ever)

  10. KanyonKris Says:

    No fashion sense? I appreciate your self-deprecation, but I disagree. What about the plaid shorts for cycling? That’s a bold fashion statement. Of the hundreds of riders at Leadville, spectators remembered seeing you because of your choice of clothing. Doesn’t that say you’re doing something right?

    OK, so outside of cycling maybe your dress is not particularly exciting, but that’s better than dressing bold and badly like bleached-blonde pink and black chick in your photo.

    I believe what she’s wearing around the ankles are grocery bag gators. She just back from shredding Hypodermic Needle with Bart and friends:

    http://bartmangbikestowork.blogspot.com/


  11. Ah, leg warmers. Very flashdance. And no, not in fashion. Not even in the 80s.

  12. Eber Says:

    does that mexican dancing shirt coming pre-wrinkled or does kim give you the nod to sport that look at the office?

  13. Chad Says:

    I knew it, I knew you were bluffing…

    I knew he was bluffing.

  14. dug Says:

    eber, two things. first, i don’t think you’re familiar with the mexican wedding shirt and its texture.

    second, that comment adds at least a full point to your kinsey score. not that the score moved because of the comment, but the comment simply indicates that your previous score was under reported.

    chad, good one man.

  15. bikemike Says:

    it’s like the one Jerry wore, only, not as puffy.

  16. Calvin Says:

    dude, over in Malaysia, we call that “LaLa fashion” (referring to the woman. your shirt, by the way, looks cool). Go over to Wikipedia and search for the term “Ah Beng” or “Ah Lian”. It’s quite a comprehensive description.

  17. tohellandback1st Says:

    anonymous, that is Doug smiling… outward smiles would give all of his photo victims a clue that they’re about to end up in a blog. clearly, Dug is usually cracking up inside as he views the world around him while we more sensitive types just cry.

  18. eber Says:

    how many points do i get for my Daniel Craig man crush?

  19. Erinb Says:

    Dug, you owe tonks $20. The leg warmer lady has been found. Guilty!

  20. dug Says:

    eber, that’s just standard. even a zero would have a daniel craig man-crush.

    erinb, no no no, tonks can’t just go find ANY leg warmer wearer. she has to find THAT leg warmer wearer.

    plus they aren’t just leg warmers. they’re ankle and foot warmers.

  21. tonks Says:

    I want my two dollars! Oh, wait, it was TWENTY! I want my twenty dollars! (I’ll split with you later, erinb.)

    And don’t tempt me, dug, because I DID grow up in WVC. I got connections. In fact, she resembles a former classmate…


Leave a Reply

