show a little consideration

January 26, 2009

This is just outrageous. In my own home. I mean, sure, it’s not MY bathroom (not that this hasn’t ever happened in my bathroom, but it’s rare, and this pic is NOT of my bathroom. Let’s stay focused here).

But really? A member of MY family?

toilet paper roll

The “roll on the tube” is not quite as bad as leaving the roll bare with no backup in the room, but still. It’s just this side of egregious.

On a very marginally related note, that is the same bathroom I came home to Friday after work, to find my 13 year old with 4 of his friends, hovering around, looking anxious. One of them had apparently dropped a tennis shoe in the toilet. They had attempted plunging, which is really a first for my house, someone besides me plunging, but with no success. And considerable mess from the attempt.

It took me ten solid minutes of plunging, while they kibbitzed from the hallway, and several of Ian’s friends chanting “Put it on the blog, Put it on the blog.”

They wanted pics. I will spare you the pics. Suffice to say, I had to get the hazmat suit on to clean the bathroom afterward. Because, conveniently, one of the friend’s dad showed up just then to take the whole crew down the hill for more hanging out at a different venue.

Kim was THIS close to having him come in to survey the damage.

Now, THAT I would have posted pictures of.

17 Responses to “show a little consideration”

  1. bikemike Says:

    5 teenage boys and a shoe in the toilet? do we know the reason for the shoe in the toilet? how does one accidently DROP a shoe into the toilet? is the theory of a shoe working better’n a plunger really true?

    oh, and the toilet paper roll is an easy one. the preacher’s daughter/son is always the one in trouble.
    i learned that from Footloose.

  2. b_banks Says:

    You’re a better man than I am, that’s for damn sure. I would have given homeboy the hazmat suit and wouldn’t have let him leave with his friends until the bathroom and all surrounding areas were fully cleansed and sanitized. That being said, at least he TRIED to plunge it. Now having Kim invite homeboy’s dad in the house to “survey the damage” is something I would pay hard earned money to see…..I can only imagine the ensuing conversation.

  3. mark Says:

    Bike_mike–figurative shoe.

    Dug, i’m with you on donning the hazmat suit yourself. Only thing worse than cleaning up that mess yourself is cleaning up after someone else cleaning up that mess.

    I’m just glad you took off the mexican wedding shirt for the job. To ruin that would have been truly egregious.

  4. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    I’m glad you point out that it was a figurative “shoe” (thanks for the visual on that one, btw) for I was also wondering how one not only drops a tennis shoe in the toilet, but manages to flush it! Normally, I would have caught on quicker but, when you mention it being done by a group of 13 year old boys, anything is possible.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Dug- have Ian place a stip of duct tape on the back right shoulder of the kid that dropped the shoe. I’ll have my people take care of it. Just make sure Ian properly marks the kid. Duct tape on the RIGHT shoulder.

  6. bikemike Says:

    mark…must be stupid monday…boy, this is embarassing.
    see, when he said shoe…i thought he really meant…crap, i’m an idiot and not nearly as cool/hip/potty knowledgeable as i thought.

    God, my kinsey numbers just went down the toilet.

  7. steveA Says:

    So, I’m right there with Burke and bikemike, 5 teenage boys, and i can see them “accidentally” flushing an actual tennis shoe. I was having trouble with the plunging actually working with a tennis shoe in the hole but I know Dug can be persistent. And maybe he got toilets like his mom’s. remember, they can flush a 12 inch subway like nobody’s business.

    Dug, yucky for you!! I want pics of you in the suit doing your public utility thing. And, I have seen the toilet paper roll on top picture many times in my household of 5 daughters. The 3 year old and the 7 month old are expempt but the 3 teens and their mother have all been found guilty. Didn’t anonymous say duct tape on the Right shoulder?

  8. Jeff Says:

    Your kid’s friends read your blog? That’s awesome!

    And I, too thought it was a literal tennis shoe. But having worked with teenagers, it seemed very natural that if five of them were in a bathroom a shoe would eventually find its way into the toilet. And get flushed.

  9. Rob Says:

    Dug,

    Please rank the shoe type – for science.

  10. dug Says:

    rob, can’t do it. not because i don’t want to, but because by the time i got to the scene, the shoe integrity had been compromised, and i was presented with cloudy (okay, opaque) toilet water, and the occasional floatie.

  11. Olivia Says:

    Geez. That last part was way too much information. I liked it much better when I thought about it vaguely as a shoe-type object.

  12. fremont mike Says:

    I was right there with the tennis shoe people. I was wondering how the heck a shoe got in the toilet. But since my son’s 16 years old and his friends are always at our house, anything is possible.

    I sure don’t envy you the joy of plunger duty. I wonder if that was what the realtor meant by the joy of homeownership?

    Thanks for the laugh
    mj

  13. fremont mike Says:

    PS
    Does this mean the shoe was on the other foot?

  14. steveA Says:

    Dug, I can’t believe that on this blog you would “spare us” the pics of hazmat central and the mysterious and misunderstood “tennis shoe” incident. With some probing questions you could probably have done some figurative reconstruction (as literal would not even be considered) of said tennis shoe and rated it on the scale provided by Rob. Just sayin.

  15. Steve Says:

    I don’t claim to be clever, but this post was filed under “poop”, not “WTF”. So, not really tennis shoes”.

    I read the forward of books, too.

  16. g Says:

    I have never understood why the roll should go anywhere but where it is pictured in this photo. Why go to the extra bother? But maybe that’s because I go through rolls so fast, putting them on the roller would feel like a revolving door.

  17. Kt Says:

    We have the same problem with “roll on the tube”– in the women’s bathroom, no less, which confuses me. I would have thought that my fellow femmes would have more compassion for the next user and would replace a roll completely.

    I restrained myself from completing the replacement once– for a whole half a day. It drove me nuts. Either replace it or don’t even try.

    PS: I was also in the “actual shoe” camp, thinking that with teenagers, anything is possible. I was eating lunch, you know! 🙂


Leave a Reply

