happy to be humiliated

February 3, 2009

I am not a musical person. I can’t emphasize this enough–I have NO musical talent.

Although, I used to sing to my kids every night. Every. Single. Night.

I had a pretty good repertoire. Ruby Tuesday, by the Rolling Stones. Two Suns In the Sunset and Wish You Were Here, by Pink Floyd. A couple by Sinead O’Conner, The Last Day of Our Acquaintance and Nothing Compares 2 U. Some Neil Young, Unknown Legend. Just to name a few.

The kids loved it. I think of it as the pre-curser to the Woosh. They wouldn’t go to sleep without it.

But two things happened. As the kids got older, I got more self-conscious singing to them, and they got more discerning about what they would listen to.

So I don’t sing much anymore.

Although, at Elden’s house the other night, I tried again.

And failed. Literally. Booed off the stage. REM’s Orange Crush is waay harder to sing than I thought. So I switched to bass.

Another confession here–Before this Rock Band party, I had never, NOT ONCE, completed a song on Guitar Hero. Not even on Easy. Yes, I’m that pathetic.

But I never failed (on Easy) this night. I was inspired.

This is before everybody realized that I couldn’t sing. Not even with Gary’s help.

rs d g s e rocking

So I switched to the Bass:

kim shelle singing sb drums dug bass

Gary sang so well that Shelle couldn’t listen sitting down.

e g sb rm plus shelle dancing

Even Susan, who is on oxygen, made it through Ozzy Ozzbourne’s Paranoid. Oh the shame.

susas ozzy plus e rs shelle

A little Pretenders:

rick s guitar kim n shelle singing

It wasn’t all fun and games though. We also had torture by electric shock. Elden tricked a bunch of us into grabbing metal handles that then caused our hearts to stop.

eveyone gets shocked but elden

I’ve jumped so far I’m not in the picture anymore.

It reminded me of that scene in Ghostbusters where Bill Murray keeps shocking the teenage boy so that he could make eyes at the hot teenage girl (which is more than a little creepy).

“The effect? I’ll tell you what the effect is–IT’S PISSING ME OFF!”

But I just ordered the game. I have more than a few victims in mind.

8 Responses to “happy to be humiliated”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    I’m so excited you bought the game. I can’t wait to play!
    Shelle

  2. Rick S. Says:

    Dug- when you were singing, I could hear the dogs out in the streets howling.

  3. KanyonKris Says:

    Don’t stop believing! I’m sure you can think of a few famous rockers who can’t really sing. Rock on! But we all have limitations we should respect. Maybe the guitar is your calling. (How’s that for non-advice advice? Like when you’re Mom says “You can do it!”)

    I’ve played that shock game. Whether it’s pain or money on the line, the game is more intense. I won once, lost a few times. That shock is unpleasant.

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    Was the game on low or high shock?

  5. tohellandback1st Says:

    oh no! 😮

  6. mark Says:

    I want the game. Actually, both of them. But I will. not. sing. ever.

  7. forgingahead Says:

    Shucks, you can’t be *that* bad. Can you?

  8. steveA Says:

    forgingahead. Yes, he is! Though there is and older brother who is worse.


Leave a Reply

