stupid name

February 12, 2009

A couple years ago, Rick and I went sploring up in the Primrose Cirque area of Timpanogos, above Aspen Grove. We hiked up the gut of “The Chute That Slides A Lot” (it had already slid, so the danger was low (and I love that name for a ski shot–I think Ben made it up)), went on up to the ridge by Elk Point, and went down along the ridge until we found a very steep, very narrow, cliff-lined chute that looked like it went where we wanted. But it had tracks in it, and the snow wasn’t very good, so we didn’t think too much more about it.

Later I read a trip report of some guys who had skied it, and they called it “the Orion Couloir.” Now, no offense to those guys, who are probably much better skiers than I am, but that’s just a retarded name. You might as well call it the “Moon of Endor Couloir.” It’s that geeky.

Anyway, this morning, after several days of snow, but with surprisingly stable avalanche conditions, we figured we’d go rename it.

It’s now “That One Steep Narrow Cliff Lined Chute.” I like it.

Rick, Aaron, and Rob, getting ready at the usual, very dark start time:

rick brandon rob prepping

Wait, what’s Aaron riding on?

splitboard

Yup, Aaron’s a knuckle dragger. We’re getting downright open minded as we age.

I think what’s happening here is Rob is complaining that Rick smells, and Rick is seeing if he does:

rick smelling the glove

The snow is deep, and we’re excited:

deskinning

This is where my camera battery, which was charging all night, died. The zero degree temperatures pretty much mean that my camera battery is good for about 5 pictures. I should know better than to waste them on the uphill. So the following pics are from the iPhone. Which also seems to be on its last legs.

The entrance to that One Steep Narrow Cliff Lined Chute is, um, steep.

rick more sidestepping

And the chute is narrow:

dug top looking down

And cliff-lined, as Mark navigates the narrows:

mark skiing from below

The knuckle dragger, ripping up his first real backcountry descent:

brandon boarding

Rick just points em downhill:

coming fast

And rips on by:

rick going by

I don’t know who this is. But I’m pretty sure he’s with us. Let’s just assume it’s Rob, since I don’t have a different picture of him skiing, and he wears the same color pants and jacket as his twin. Doesn’t that sort of thing usually stop with twins once they’re over 10 years old?

someone below

Each of us pee’d on the chute, so that our new name would stick. But I pee’d the most.

And bien voila! That One Steep Narrow Cliff Lined Chute.

10 Responses to “stupid name”

  1. Rick S. Says:

    It’s a good name and greatly reduces the potential for confusion. I forgot just how cool the Aspen Grove area is. AND it’s much closer to my work. Thanks for making a visit to the “UC”.

  2. bikemike Says:

    shouldn’t it be named the “pee-chuter”

  3. Rob Says:

    I didn’t pee in it…They have laws against things like that. Savages.

  4. dug Says:

    bikemike, that’s genius. a merit for you, and a demerit for me for not thinking of it.

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    Was that chute actually fun to ski? Looks not, being so narrow. Perhaps the skiing below the chute was fun. But what do I know.

  6. dug Says:

    kris, yup. very fun. all fun. the hike was fun, the entrance was fun, the narrow part was fun, the apron was fun.

    the chute proper required a lot of jump turning. which is fun. the apron was more wide open free skiing. which is fun.

    skiing is fun.


  7. Thanks for having me come along, even if I only mustered a score of 1.5 out of 10 in your review. And sure enough, I am waving my arms “all hip hop and shit” in my photo.

    Aaron

  8. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    First off, I’m digging the knuckle dragger’s board. That rocks.

    Second, the obvious name is “Chute To Narrow” isn’t it? What, no Shins fans? Eh, never mind.

    “Pee Chuter” is a good name, too.

  9. gbrown Says:

    Dug,
    You are on a freaking tear. I was proud of the winter I was having, skiing nearly every weekend since early Dec. But lately I get on your blog and I realize what a resort pussy and weekend warrior I’ve become. I gotta change jobs and get the doc to up my meds. Sue’s birthday party at Snowbird tomorrow.


  10. Just linked to this post from a friends comment on FB and thought I should explain the name. I skied this a couple times with friends when I lived in Provo (1999-2004), the first time being one evening well after dark, I’m not sure why. While waiting for my friend, Paul Peterson, to drop through the narrows I looked up and noticed that Orion’s belt lined up perfectly over the slot. Pretty cool? Yes. Nerdy? Perhaps. Stupid? Your call.

    Anyway, I used the new name on my adventure journal that night, and somehow the name stuck and got spread around. Also, fwiw, I have no idea who the first descent party was but would gladly defer to their name for the couloir.

    Glad you had a good time 🙂


Leave a Reply

