gotta start em young

February 23, 2009

I took Holden and his friend Jake to Snowbird Saturday. Bluebird day, warm, very Spring like. All very nice.

Yada yada yada.

Mid afternoon, I asked them if they wanted to try a little hiking. Holden was immediately game, although Jake was a bit skeptical. So we took the Baldy lift up and got a good look at the relatively easy (considering it dropped off the top of High Baldy) run dropping back down into the Mineral Basin side, off the High Baldy traverse.

This run, which they call “Living the Dream,” is almost never open until later in the year, when the snowpack has consolidated and the avalanche danger is pretty much gone. Well, since the snowpack has consolidated, and the avalanche danger was pretty much gone Saturday, almost everything was open.

But they wouldn’t let us hike it from the top of Baldy, because it isn’t an official Snowbird exit. Only Alta skiers can hike from there. So we had to go back down and take the Mineral lift up, ski down to the saddle, and hike the longer, but mellower route from above Peruvian.

No big deal, really.

The boys DUG it.

baldy hiking past closed sign

Neither had ever hiked for turns before, but we had been skiing since the lifts opened, and hiking was a good chance to shake things up a bit.

baldy posing on hike

They were troopers. It was hot, and we were overdressed for hiking. But the top offered certain amenities.

baldy jake resting

And nice views:

baldy holdn n jake top

The run was a bit mellow, but unlike anything they had ever been down. Apart from being exactly like other stuff they had ever been down. You know. Except for the hiking part.

baldy holden n jake on run

Both boys immediately declared it the best run of their lives. If it hadn’t been so late in the day, I think I could have gotten them to hike it several more times.

I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship.

10 Responses to “gotta start em young”

  1. Aaron Says:

    Do any kids ski anymore? I’ve been taking my 4 year old and I wouldn’t mind at all if she sticks with skis. But I drove by the Sundance bus stop on Saturday and counted 11 boarders and 0 skiers, so I think the peer pressure for her to switch might be insurmountable. And now that I’ve seen that even your kid is a knuckledragger, the prospect of having a long-term skier seems especially hopeless.

  2. dug Says:

    aaron, my ten year old boards. my 14 year old and my 15 year old both ski.

    although, my 14 year old is getting board with the skis and now wants a board.

    there is no hope. just accept it. shouldn’t be a problem for you though, right? you’re a single planker.

  3. mark Says:

    Did you go to the top of Baldy or just to the shoulder? Cuz if you went to the top, you could show them the Baldy Chutes–forbidden fruit to snowboarders. At least until April 27, at which point it will be open season.

    Aaron, my kids ski. 90% of the kids on the beginner lifts at Solitude are on skis. Everyone at Alta is on skis. Sundance may be bucking the trend, but the tides have turned back to skiing, what with the wide skis and twin tips. Of course, that means the skiers are dressing and acting like snowboarders, but what can you do?

  4. mark Says:

    Bored with the skis? Have him try tele. BTW, could you go into your spam folder and release my comment? I don’t think your filter likes the embedded link.

  5. Aaaron Says:

    I’m fine either way. Sliding across the snow is fun no matter how you chose to do it. I’d just like to think that she has some chance of deciding for herself not to follow the traditions of her father (whether they be wicked or righteous).

    Is skiing dead, or will there be a counter-revolution? I’ll admit that when I started boarding back it was mainly because it was different (and because I was a “skater”). Maybe kids will eventually start skiing to be different.

  6. Eric Says:

    Same thing on the water. Hardly anybody slaloms anymore, wakeboards are taking over.

  7. dug Says:

    eric, that’s because wakeboarding is pretty easy to pick up, lots of fun, and you don’t need the perfect water you need with a slalom ski.

    wait, where have i heard that before?

    skiing is not dead. you can do cooler tricks on skis. now that skis are common in the park, kids think they’re cool.

    my 15 year old who skis wants to try snowboarding. my 10 year old who snowboards wants to try skiing.

  8. KanyonKris Says:

    Cool Dad Dug. Few things more fun than introducing kids to new adventures – especially father to son.

    My son is still a bit young for the really cool stuff, but we have our little adventures and I get a kick out of it.

    My oldest (daughter) loves rock climbing and wants a crash pad, from just a few trips to the local crags.

    We’ve tried mountain biking, but hasn’t stuck on yet.

    Putting the fun in dysfunctional.

  9. bikemike Says:

    my stepson can kick my butt on Wii bowling…ahh…quality time.

  10. b_banks Says:

    Ski / Board……who gives a damn. Holden is a badass……nice work H!!!!


Leave a Reply

