goodbye, old friend

February 24, 2009

Our prayers have been heard.

This general email was just sent to the company:

All,

The fridge in lunch room is being hauled away THIS Thursday. If you have anything in there that you would like to salvage (containers, food?) you’ll need to do so before Thursday.

Thanks,

No, thank YOU.

Thanks for the memories (and the blog fodder):

fridge one

fridge two

fridge three

fridge four 

And, like at the end of the Truman Show, let’s see what else is on.

19 Responses to “goodbye, old friend”

  1. bikemike Says:

    sniff…good bye old friend…what will we pick on now

  2. chtrich Says:

    Think they will fix the toilet next?

  3. mark Says:

    Toilet’s out of the question. Especially since I just heard my sisters tell me about how they would hold it ALL DAY to avoid using the restrooms in high school.

    Between the water and diet coke, I pee like 9 times a day. I have a hard time making it through a single meeting, let alone an entire workday.

  4. Grizzly Adam Says:

    What could anyone possibly want to salvage out of that tox-box?

  5. bikemike Says:

    mark- 4 years of high school and i didn’t go once…probably explains alot about me.

  6. KanyonKris Says:

    “hauled away”? What an undignified end an old friend.

    You should have a funeral pyre – like in Star Wars when they burned Obi Wan’s remains. If you don’t you’ll just be exporting the problem to someone else, is that how you roll?


  7. I think I threw up in my mouth a little bit. I hope they’re planning on wearing hazmat suits!

  8. zeph Says:

    did management get Energy Solutions to come haul that out to their Clive facility?

  9. steveA Says:

    Energy Solutions could probably recycle some of the radioactivity from this fridge. Wait, watch what vehicle comes to get it, follow it to it’s end and save the object of our derision!! I do like the funeral pyre idea. The fumes alone should shoot the flames at least 100 feet up!

  10. BotchedExperiment Says:

    I think it’s a ploy to see who will admit to having that “food” in the bottom of the ‘frige.

    Seriously, people put food in there?

  11. Jeff Says:

    Grizzly Adam – biological weapons.

    Dug – Thanks for the photo retrospective of the fridge. It appears that your gain is our loss. Although I guess you can only call it a gain if it’s “addition by subtraction”, like trading Terrell Owens…but I digress.

  12. steveA Says:

    So, any word on the new fridge? 😉 Or do so many of you now have your own that a new fridge would be redundant?

  13. steveA Says:

    Jeff- Amen to your digression!

  14. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    I tried to resist commenting but i just can’t let such a transgression go unchallenged. Obi-Wan’s remains were not burned – he was light-sabre’d by Darth. I think you are referring to Luke’s uncle…

    Oops, is my nerd showing?

  15. MOCougFan Says:

    Dang. I really wanted to see what would happen if you put some gray poopon mustard in there.

  16. KanyonKris Says:

    Burke – I was thinking of Anakin (Darth Vader) – they burned his body at the Ewok celebration. How did I make that mistake? Ouch, that cost me some major nerd cred.

  17. zeph Says:

    oh geez…i feel my geekiness bubbling up.

    qui-gon jinn was also cremated.

    i feel totally exposed now.

    let me have it…

  18. zeph Says:

    dug – having posted my last comment, i think you would have to agree I just lost a point on the kinsey scale.

  19. dug Says:

    zeph, i have no comment. except to say, i knew that too.


Leave a Reply

