welcome to crazy town

February 24, 2009

I haven’t really been into the lunch room here at work since the big Christmas party, but that’s where we keep the Coke machine, and yesterday I really, really needed a diet coke, so I had to venture in.

Some things change, some stay the same.

For example, the price of a can of Diet Coke used to be 50 cents. No longer:

soda machine 65

I know this Diet Coke sign makes it look like it’s Caffeine FREE diet coke, but that’s just trickery. In fact, I didn’t buy a can from this machine for the first several months I worked here, because of that stupid fake sign. Happily, it’s not accurate, and the Diet Coke actually dispensed is real.

But now it’s 65 cents. Boooooooooo!

Here’s a lovely vista in the corner of the room:

flowers watefall

Very idyllic. Although, aren’t those flowers poinsettias? Not really seasonal anymore. And who put them there? HR lady? And what are flowers doing in the far corner of THIS largely abandoned room:

tables and chairs

Hey, look the fridge.

fridge outside

Ch ch ch. Sh sh sh. Ha ha ha. (Don’t tell me you don’t recognize the Friday the 13th music. EVERYBODY knows the Friday the 13th music, even when it’s spelled out like that.)

Ahhhhhhhh!

fridge inside

You can’t look away, can you? Nobody can look away. I looked in the trap, Ray.

fridge inside closeup

You’re welcome. We’re going on a YEAR now. Welcome to crazy town.

18 Responses to “welcome to crazy town”

  1. b_banks Says:

    The crazy thing is the rest of the room look all nice and neat with the chairs up and everything. It even looks peaceful. And then you open the refrigerator and all holy hell breaks loose!!!!!!!

  2. emily Says:

    if it makes you feel any better, our canned machines are now at 95 cents each – haven’t been able to bring myself to price the bottles recently.

    then again, our fridges are fungus free, so I think I still win . . . .

  3. Jeff Says:

    I think you need to line up all your fridge pictures so we can see the transformation. It’s possible now that they can’t clean it because the filth has eaten the floor of the fridge and if they were to clean it all the cool air would escape through the bottom and their electric bills would go through the roof.

  4. andy Says:

    just clean it yourself dude! lol. =)

  5. mark Says:

    I’m calling the health department. Just to see what they say. Or maybe you should threaten to call the health department unless they start giving you President’s day off.

  6. Jeff Says:

    emily – I’m not sure that’s fungus. From the photo it looks like some kind of Satanic ritual took place there involving animal (or possibly human) blood.

  7. bikemike Says:

    when you aquire some strange illness, the cute chick from “House” will know where to look to find the cause.

  8. dug Says:

    andy, no way i’m cleaning it. i NEED this fridge. if i cleaned it, what would i write about?

    like 90% of us, i have access to my own mini-fridge. this fridge doesn’t need cleaning, it needs removing.

    bikemike, word.

  9. KanyonKris Says:

    Your solution was in today’s newspaper (I know, paper, how quaint):

    http://www.gocomics.com/closetohome/2009/02/24/


  10. We have the Fridge Nazi in our building. Every Friday our Secretary throws EVERYTHING away that is in the fridge at 2PM no matter what it is. She has thrown away new 6 packs of soda before just because they were in the fridge at 2PM on a Friday. I used to hate that until I saw your fridge. I’m now a fan of the Fridge Nazi. You’ve changed my life Dug!

  11. chtrich Says:

    You need to start adding things to that mess. Pour an entire bottle of ketchup on top of it one day. Then maybe a bottle of ranch dressing the next. Repeat with whatever suits you. It’ll be fun to watch the colors change.

  12. Jdub Says:

    Wow! Who cleans that kitchen at your work – has the night cleaning crew also been recruited to the “I ain’t goin near that” movement?

  13. MOCougFan Says:

    Awesome…. I knew when the post started that it was going to end with an updated picture of the fridge. I’m with Chris. Pour some mustard in there and see what happens.

  14. Grizzly Adam Says:

    I feel like someone just poked me in the eye.

  15. Davis Says:

    Is it just me or can you only find caffeine-free diet coke in Utah? Never seen it anywhere else.

  16. steveA Says:

    Make sure the mustard is Grey Poupon!!! Who ya gonna call!!

  17. MOCougFan Says:

    Steve… I like the Grey Poopon idea for mustard. Very nice.

  18. BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

    “…and the Diet Coke actually dispensed is real.” Sorry, Dug, but there is nothing in Diet Coke that is real!


Leave a Reply

