back on bikes

March 23, 2009

Okay, I know I just got done saying how I was still skiing, and wasn’t ready for biking yet. But it was 70 degrees all last week, and some guys came down from Seattle to ride in St. George, so you have to go, right? Plus, it dumped snow last night and is still dumping, so trust me, I’ll be writing about skiing tomorrow again.

Cuz I know how you hang on my every word, on my writing plans, and all that. So I just want to keep you in the loop.

Some guys went down Friday morning to get in some Little Creek, and they set up camp by Brad’s future Yurt site. Me n Tyler n Steve n Brad met them there Friday night and swapped stories around the campfire into the wee hours before hitting the sleeping bags.

Here’s morning, some eating the leftover bratwurst from the night before, some wisely eating plastic type donuts.

breakfast at windmill

Not sure what Nick had for breakfast, but whatever it was, it didn’t work out so well for him. We’ll get to that.

Brad showing off his wonderful sense of style:

brad shows off the style

We started from the upper GEM trailhead, and rode the GEM/RIM/GOULDS loop counter clockwise. There’s not too much to tell, the weather was awesome, and the trail was smooth and fast. So I’ll let pictures tell the story.

trailhead

kenny dropping rocks

tyler on the rocks

brad riding

Uh oh. Nick’s breakfast catches up with him:

nick heads for the outhouse

traffic on switchback 

steve overlook switchback

dug kenny blurry

tyler on singletrack

So after GEM/RIM GOULDS we headed down to Hurricane, to visit Over the Edge bike shop so Steve could replace his rear derailleur cable, which had snapped just before we climbed to Goulds, leaving him with kind of an icky gear to climb for an hour. But Steve is the most stoic rider I know, with nary a peep of complaint. He just soldiers on.

over the edge waiting

Turns out, his rear hub also had like an 1/8 of an inch of play, so no Zen trail for Steve. But when he laid down to take a nap by a big bush, instead he ended up listening to a crazy couple on the other side of the bush working out their marriage, so I think it’s a wash.

Here are the pics from Zen trail, which, by the way, is  a bit much when you’re all wasted from 25 miles in the desert. For the likes of most of us (not Brad or Kenny), it’s a bit too much for a second ride. But an awesome ride nonetheless. We gutted it out.

paul coming down zen followed by tyler

kenny tony zen gully

This rock at the top of the Zen trail teeter totters. So of course, since it’s also on the edge of a 500 foot cliff, it seems like the thing to do is put 7 guys on it teetering their little hearts out.

teeter totter not me

paul overhang

kenny bob descending zen fingers

dug descending zen

paul technical

And, let’s finish with the obligatory Tyler butt shot:

tyler gq

St. George has more trails, better trails, and better weather than Moab.

There, I said it.

And they have In N Out Burger. Which some people seem to really like.

21 Responses to “back on bikes”

  1. chtrich Says:

    Well American Fork is getting an In N Out burger…..

  2. Jeff Says:

    Nice…
    Can’t wait to get some 70-degree weather out my way.

  3. MOCougFan Says:

    Suck. I reseeded my lawn. Sigh.

    Looked like fun.

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    Could you alternate between ski and bike posts through April? I think you’re up to the challenge.

  5. Rick S. Says:

    Brats are sketchy enough when cooked the first time. I can’t imagine what happens when you leave them out all night, re-heat, and then eat in the morning.

  6. Bob Says:

    St George is more better than Moab, any day, anyhow.

    There, I said it.

    • BotchedExperiment Says:

      please stop telling people. pretty soon yer gonna have to get a permit to ride little creek.

  7. mark Says:

    tyler has a cute butt. there, i said it.

  8. b_banks Says:

    $$$$$$$$$$$$$$. Pure, undadulterated $$$$$$$$$$!!!

  9. KanyonKris Says:

    Nice photos. Really. Good shots, and together they convey the feel of a bike trip.

  10. Bob B Says:

    Not mentioned were the Little Creek and Gooseberry rides on Friday and Sunday. I’m thinking Moab and St. George are very close. I may have to write up a comparison. I just very well may.

    • dug Says:

      bob, here’s the thing. moab has slickrock, amasa back, gold bar rim, sovereign, and porcupine. there are other trails, but those are the good ones.

      st george has little creek, gooseberry, gem/rim/goulds, zen, barrel roll, and an entire plethora i’m not even mentioning. and those are all SINGLETRACK.

      throw in the in n out burger, and it’s a slam dunk.

  11. Darren Says:

    Gooseberry is incredible!

  12. tohellandback1st Says:

    the teetering gave me a bit of vertigo here at my desk. i managed to hold on and not fall off until i saw the Tyler shot; not his best. too many donuts? or just not his best angle? : )

  13. Nick - Seattle Says:

    Nice write up.

    Glad you were suffering a little at Zen, just not complaining about it as much as me.

    You should have got a shot of the inside of the outhouse – almost, but not quite as bad as that scene from Trainspotting- almost.

    good times

  14. VH1 Says:

    I want to ride these trails you speak of this weekend. How do you get to the trailheads, or even better did anyone have a gps?

  15. Ty Says:

    I have to be honest, it definitely wasn’t A work. I’m a little disappointed myself, but to be fair, the seat was wedged a little high, hindering the natural form and I agree the shorts were not the best pick. I really hope it wasn’t the extra brat. Either way, I’ve got some work to do, but rest assured, it’ll be back strong.

  16. jruss Says:

    What? No invite? Is this because of our “no more than 2 rides together per year” quota?

    • dug Says:

      well, j, i admit that the quota is as good a reason as any i might come up with. so let’s stick with that.

      see you next month.


Leave a Reply

