connect four

March 29, 2009

I managed to get some chocolate covered cinnamon bears to church with me today. We had a fairly long lecture on financial security, and since both Kim and Rachelle were out of town, Rick and I coped as best we could:

photo

By the way, I’M red. THAT’S RIGHT!

33 Responses to “connect four”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    bless me father for i have…whoa…CHOCOLATE!!

    filed in church,food…classic

  2. bikemike Says:

    yeah, apparently i go by anonymous also

  3. Mike J Says:

    I can’t get away with bringing games to church with me anymore because my youngest is 9 but I remember the days of playing games and coloring at church. I was the most reverent member in the whole building.

    Nice move with the gummi bears by the way.

  4. Rick S. Says:

    I let you win so you would share your bears with me. So I guess I’m the real winner in this scenario.

    And Sage has finally made the connection. Church + Dug = treats. Thanks for hooking her up with the gusher fruit snacks. They were good and I even gave her one.

  5. mark Says:

    Kate also appreciated the chocolate covered cinnamon bear. Even if I had to pop the last slobbery half of it in my mouth (but you knew I would). The hard part was walking out of the building without her getting her chocolatey 2-year-old hands on either of our white shirts.

  6. KanyonKris Says:

    No time stamp for conclusive evidence, but …

    Did you live blog this from church on your iPhone?

    If so, bravo.

    Rick, all I have to do is divine from what I know of you – are you the sort of man who would take a dive for candy? Just a few questions: Are you from Australia? Have you ever beaten a giant or bested a Spaniard? Have you ever been involved in a land war in Asia?

  7. Chad Says:

    Kanyonkris,

    truly you have a dizzying intellect.

  8. Rachel A Says:

    It was open-mic day for us. Was it open-mic day for you, too?

  9. Jenny-Jenny Says:

    You crack me up. Way to go on letting him win, Rick, whatever you can do to get more cccb!

  10. MOCougFan Says:

    The Stake Pres was sitting on the stand next to me yesterday… I wonder if my sentence would be shortened if I’d busted out C-4 and asked him to play a round.

  11. BUD Says:

    Whose cute bag is that in front of the C-4 game?

  12. VA Biker Says:

    If you need food for sustenance and games for boredom relief, I must ask, “Why do you go to church?”

  13. JB Says:

    I am confused about this whole church experience you have. A long lecture about financial security?? This is delivered by whom, the minister/pastor/priest, or the church financial secretary, or guest lecturer? And then, during said lecture is this when the candy and board games come out??? Don’t get me wrong, any forum that teaches people how to hang onto their dough is a good thing!

    • dug Says:

      jb, it’s like this for mormons–the meeting “block” is three hours long. i know, right? i can’t believe i just typed that. three hours.

      anyway.

      the first 70 minutes are what you might recognize as a traditional “service” or “mass.” sacrament (eucharist), etc., and a sermon or two, though in the mormon church, these are delivered by everyday churchgoers.

      then there’s a short break and a 40 minute sunday school class, well, actually, lots of different classes, divided up by ages and preferences. these are also taught by everyday members.

      another short break, and then another 40 minute segment, more classes.

      on this particular day, the second and third segments combined all adults (who were not volunteering teaching youth), and featured a couple of “talks” or lessons about fiscal preparedness.

      usually the lessons are less secular in nature. desperate times and all that.

      there, now you’ve exhausted my interest in the subject. back to the chocolate covered cinnamon bears.

  14. Grizzly Adam Says:

    What will be awesome is when the iphone allows for phone-to-phone gaming, so then we could just connect over the network and play connect 4 (or say, Halo) against each other, even though I am far away in another church building.

  15. mark Says:

    Dug, the point Rachel was making about open mic day was that yesterday was fast Sunday, and she was very disappointed in you for tempting me with chocolate covered cinnamon bears. she was even more disappointed in me for giving in to said temptation.

    I guess I can be this direct in my comment since you have another post up for today and nobody will read this. But I won’t go on bearing my testimony or anything.

  16. Adventure Nell Says:

    Ummm…knowing less than nothing about Mormons except something about underwear (I sooo don’t wanna know) and that you don’t drink (I am with you on that)so please excuse my lack of knowledge but…are you allowed to watch movies like “striptease”? Also, if I had games and food in my anglican church…I would have been in alot of trouble so well done!

    • dug Says:

      nell, well, that depends on who you ask. or, rather, DON’T ask. if ya follow.

      and it’s not like we were parading the treats and connect 4 around like a holy relic or something. we were in the back, and we’re very discreet. well, we’re pretty discreet.

  17. g Says:

    VA Biker: “If you need food for sustenance and games for boredom relief, I must ask, “Why do you go to church?”

    This has been my question exactly. I’m missing something. Can’t you eat candy and play games at home?

    • dug Says:

      but g, when i go to a football game or a movie, i get popcorn or a hot dog. what, suddenly because i like candy i’m desperate? i ALWAYS have candy. always. remember, i’ve written about this.

      church is good. i like church. but that doesn’t mean that, in a three hour block of church, i might not need a little distraction. some days the topics and presentations are riveting, compelling.

      some days i need some connect four.

      you know what else i love? cycling and backcountry skiing. and i take my ipod. which seems like the equivalent of candy and games. i guess i could listen to my ipod in the car or at home too. but i don’t.


Leave a Reply

