sweet sweetness

March 31, 2009

I lived in Austria for six months when I was in college, and did a fair amount of traveling around. I tried to get some cool gifts for family members when I visited exotic places.

For example, when I was in Moscow, I bought my dad one of those Russian rabbit skin hats.

I also bought what I thought would be the perfect exotic gift for my sister Leslie, who worked in Hollywood, and liked exotic things. Unfortunately, I was a stupid college student, and I thought an actual mink stole with actual mink face still attached would be cool.

It wasn’t. You would think the college girls I was traveling with would have helped me NOT buy something that stupid. They didn’t.

The best thing someone traveling abroad ever brought ME, however, came from my friend Steve. Steve often traveled to Europe, specifically to Germany I think, and once when he returned, he proudly presented Kim and me with a trophy, some awesome Swiss chocolate, in a huge size no less.

A Toblerone.

300px-Toblerone-1

He was so proud. I briefly considered not telling him one could buy Toblerone at 7-Eleven. But that just wouldn’t have been me.

8 Responses to “sweet sweetness”

  1. Jenny-Jenny Says:

    Oh Toblerone, sweet Toblerone. Try it in fondue, your life will never be the same.

    • bikemike Says:

      Jenny
      that sounds like a jingle for toblerone…yeah, i can’t think of anything that rhymes with fondue either.

  2. grizzly adam Says:

    He probably did buy it at 7-11. 5 minutes before he gave it to you.

  3. VA Biker Says:

    I have a friend who has gone to Switzerland one to two times per year for the last 25yrs or so. I think it literally broke his heart when he found out that Toblerone was a Kraft Foods product. Bummer. From his despondent reaction, I don’t always think that’s been the case, but with product availability in ye’ olde local 7-11 in the US, maybe so…

  4. Anonymous Says:

    The best thing to bring back from Switzerland is Luxemburgerli

    http://www.spruengli.ch/spruengli/geschichte-luxemburgerli.php?lang=en

  5. evilreview Says:

    it’s funny you wrote this, because yesterday i bought a mink stole at a 7-11.

  6. Rachel W Says:

    I love when things like that happen. One of the dentists Dan worked with in Roseville brought back some chocolate covered macadamia nuts from Hawaii for an assistant. yeah, those ones you can get at any drug store.


  7. The dark chocolate version is the BEST!


Leave a Reply

