i’ll be fine. FINE

April 24, 2009

Elden took some fine video of my favorite backyard trail yesterday. And by backyard trail, I mean front yard trail

I got home from work last night, and Ian was just laying around, and I figured he would dig Elden’s soundtrack, Smooth Criminal covered by Alien Ant Farm.

I was right, as soon as I fired up the video, Ian was grooving, and asking if we could download the song right NOW!

Ian commented on what a cool trail that was, and Hey, where is that? I took him to the front porch and pointed to it. I said “hey, 14 year old son who has never been mountain biking with me, wanna go ride it, right now?”

He did.

On the approach to the top of Jacobs Ladder:

ian approach

And at the top, looking back at our house:

ian points from top

Here’s Ian negotiating some of the good stuff on the descent (first ever real mountain bike ride):

ian descent rocks

And we exit:

ian jacobs bottom

From here it’s a mellow dirt road climb back our front porch. About a half mile up the road from here, it gets a bit quick, with a short downhill, and the road is quite rutted out from the mud, which has dried into pretty stiff ridges. I got ahead, and sat up and looked back to see how Ian was doing, cuz you know, I’m the shepherd, and he’s mine.

Here’s what I got for my overdeveloped sense of responsibility:

dug knee

dug elbow

dug arm

Oh, and since as we left the garage it became apparent that his helmet no longer fit, except like the Tin Man’s hat, way up on top of his head:

tin man

I lent him my helmet, and went with my cycling cap. But about halfway up, his super cool teenage hair was getting in his eyes, so I donated my little cap too.

So when I was body slammed to the ground by the universe, in one of those “one second you’re riding, the next second you’re sliding on your head and shoulder in the hardened mud” moments, I was protected only by MY thinning 40 something hair.

It’s not big deal, right? I can rest and recover. Except right now at work I’m wearing a white shirt and I’m bleeding through the elbow and shoulder just in time for my big meeting, and I’m leaving in a couple hours to go to Moab and ride for 100 miles off road tomorrow.

It’ll be fine. FINE.

29 Responses to “i’ll be fine. FINE”

  1. evilreview Says:

    i wonder what it would take to get my boys to go riding with me. i’m thinking psychotropics.

    • dug Says:

      i’m ALWAYS thinking psychotropics.

      • BurkeInTheOzarks Says:

        I think of psychotropics often, although it’s usually in the form of, “I sure wish I could go back to simpler times when taking psychotropics for kicks seemed like a good idea.”

  2. vh1 Says:

    I took the “lunchbox” on a ride this past Monday in corner canyon. He loved it. Have fun this weekend

  3. Eric Says:

    Did he laugh? My boys would have laughed at me.

    • dug Says:

      eric, he didn’t just laugh, he was doubled over wheezing with laughter. i was doubled over yelling, about to throw up from the pain.

      and of course, later in the shower, i thought i was passing a kidney stone. i get woozy thinking about it.

  4. Mike J Says:

    That’s the mark of a good crash when you walk in the house and ask for a camera.

  5. Jason Says:

    Geez – that looks like Ian drug you across some slickrock. The legend of your crash was already circulating around the neighborhood last night when a few of us were loading up for the ride this weekend. I thought it might have been embellished a little, but those wounds match up about right to what I’d heard.

  6. tohellandback1st Says:

    way cool…

    And the cat’s in the cradle and the silver spoon
    Little boy blue and the man on the moon
    When you comin’ home son?…

    and all that

    : )

    and, um, maybe i was wrong with all that no culo stuff…cool boxers

  7. bikemike Says:

    ouch and stuff. waterboard the kid, that’ll learn him not to laugh at other people’s pain…or not.

  8. Rachel A Says:

    Don’t forget to pack the painkillers. Something strong.

  9. chtrich Says:

    I hope you have better luck at RAWROD. Watch out for the edges.

  10. mtb w Says:

    Excellent work getting your son out riding. Looks like he enjoyed it. Did the shepard add another convert to his flock? He also apparently enjoyed the “comedy show” afterwards – you planned that, right?

    Good luck on RAWROD – you’ll definitely need painkillers and lots of fresh bandages nearby in the SAG vehicle. That knee looks pretty torn up – hmm, maybe you should drive the SAG vehicle this year.

  11. brkeyes7 Says:

    audible. I always knew shepherding was dangerous.

  12. ricky Says:

    that’s some serious cheez. i can’t quite figure out what the first picture is. your feet provide a clue but i’m wondering if they got screwed on backwards in your crash. i’m afraid to look at the picture too long—you (and kim) already know how i feel about you.

    speaking as one who has delivered a few kidney stones, that looks far worse! maybe you should have worn a dark shirt to work today. didn’t we learn that lesson several years ago? i can’t imagine the joy ian must have right now.

    • KanyonKris Says:

      I’d choose 100 mountain bike crashes over 1 kidney stone. I’ve had 2 kidney stones so far and the pain is WAY more than any injury I’ve ever had. Enough pain to nauseate me to the point of puking, then dry heaving. Yeah, good times.

  13. KanyonKris Says:

    (Running commentary from reading the post above)

    I admire dug’s ability to “seize the moment” – and involve his son, bonus points.

    Wow, Ian rode over that rock outcropping. I balked first time I rode Jacobs. I’m such a wuss.

    Uh, oh, bloody knee. Now Ian will have a bad taste in his mouth about mountain biking and it’ll be hard for dug to get him to go ride again.

    Wait, that’s dug’s knee! And elbow, and shoulder. Ouch. And just before RAWROD. Why, universe, why?

    I have a few scrapes from a stupid crash last week, but now dug will get the spotlight – fine with me!

  14. stevenbpt Says:

    I believe Ian is no stranger to road rash. He uses a ripstick does he not? It was either him or Holden who wiped out at the oldest uncles house last year. Dug, good luck this weekend. Those are gonna bleed a bit. Way to go Ian!!! You might want to hide out a bit, but my girls would have done the same thing to me. Wait, they aleady have. Then they try the old “oh wait, are you hurt” line.

  15. Rick S Says:

    Did you know a puma can smell blood from a mile away? I’ll bring some “ointment” for you.

  16. stevenbpt Says:

    I hear the chupacabra can smell it from 2 miles!! How many Puma’s in Moab area?

  17. LT Says:

    better keep those wounds moist, might be hard to in Moab.

  18. forgingahead Says:

    Oh man, that’s just not fair. There are you being a protective dad and whamo! That looks super painful. Fine or not. Hope the 100 miles is fall-free.

  19. Nordica Says:

    great video! I rode Ghost Falls/Jacob’s Ladder for the first time this afternoon. I stopped at the second JLadder sign (not the first one at the start 😉 ) and didn’t continue on, just turned around and came back down then rode down GFalls.. Did I miss a lot by not continuing up the trial from the JL sign at the ridge?

    thanks

  20. Jen Says:

    Be glad you got the fall out of your system before Moab. The consequences could be much worse if you just tip over and go down a few thousand feet!

    Remember Vard’s road rash when you took him biking? I didn’t notice the aloe vera I put on his back to relieve the pain after his shower actually had some alcohol in it … ouch!!

  21. Jay Says:

    Ouch Dug. On the other hand, so proud of Ian. What a champ for riding that. Eric and I will be dreaming of RAWROD…enjoy it for us.

  22. erol Says:

    dug, ian….so stoked for you. we were just talking in san diego about getting the kids to take up the sport that has brought us now almost 25 years of pure elation. way cool.
    p.s dug, it reminds me why i need a helmet.
    tell ian i’ll show the girls, they’ll be impressed and hopefully inspired.

  23. Grizzly Adam Says:

    I see a RAWROD in Ian’s future.

  24. Olivia Says:

    Ouch! That looks painful. And the video scared me. I seriously think you guys are all crazy, but fun to watch.


Leave a Reply

