“flies” on the windscreen

May 12, 2009

I’ve started riding the motorcycle to work again, on days I’m not bring my mountain or road bike in for a lunch ride.

And you want to know what’s gross?

What’s gross is when you’re wearing a helmet, with a clear visor, you’re cruising down the freeway in the carpool lane, comfortably doing about 80mph, and, since it’s Spring, and since it’s pollen season, you get a little itchy. You know. In the nose area.

Nothing you can do about it, you’re not driving a car, you’re driving a motorcycle at 80mph in traffic. Both hands on the bars please.

So you sneeze. All over the inside of your helmet.

Yup. That’s gross.

19 Responses to ““flies” on the windscreen”

  1. Michele Says:

    That’s disgusting…but quite funny. Thanks for the laugh, as usual.

  2. mark Says:

    I think I just threw up a little in my mouth.

  3. bikemike Says:

    Yeah, i guess “mucus” on the windscreen would’ve sounded kinda gross.

    of course, i would’ve gone with “snot rocket on the crotch rocket”…but that’s just me.

  4. tohellandback1st Says:

    ok, motorcycles just got a little bit less cool…

  5. tohellandback1st Says:

    no work at work (not necessarily a good thing) and so i checked out old motorcycle posts. ‘Alpine is a Friendly Town’… now i’m having to explain my sudden burst of laughter to all the co-workers…

  6. stevenbpt Says:

    I just did that myself the other day!!! Cause, I too just started riding again and the dust and crud just has to come up and get in your face and nose. Fortunately I was able to cut the force to about half of usual and point down to the chin area of the helmet. One of those sneezes you feel coming on just in time. I feel some of your pain as I was able to avoid most of the visor. I wouldn’t start wearing shorts yet, I hear the killer bee/hummingbird hybrids are starting to emerge.

  7. Olivia Says:

    Here is an interesting story I thought you would appreciate out of San Jose today.

    SAN JOSE, Calif. (AP) — An office worker cleaning a fridge full of rotten food created a smell so noxious that it sent seven co-workers to the hospital and made many others ill. Firefighters had to evacuate the AT&T building in downtown San Jose on Tuesday, after the flagrant fumes prompted someone to call 911. A hazmat team was called in.

    What they found was an unplugged refrigerator that had been crammed with moldy food.

    Authorities said an enterprising office worker had decided to clean it out, placing the food in a conference room while using two cleaning chemicals to scrub down the mess. The mixture of old lunches and disinfectant caused 28 people to need treatment for vomiting and nausea.

    Authorities said the worker who cleaned the fridge didn’t need treatment – she can’t smell because of allergies.

  8. tonks Says:

    “Ewwwww!” to Olivia’s post, and double “Ewwww!” to Dug’s. Or, maybe it should be the other way around…

  9. stevenbpt Says:

    Heard the same story and I just figured that’s where Dug’s refurbished refrigerator ended up. Good timing on getting rid of the hazmat storage facility!

  10. andy Says:

    it’s a good thing you got rid of that fridge or this could have been you!

    http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20090513/ap_on_fe_st/us_odd_rotten_office_food

  11. andy Says:

    awwww….crap. now i’m the idiot that didn’t read the post above his.

  12. Bebe Says:

    Gross Dug! But let’s get back to one of your regular topics. I sure have some great bathrooms to tell you about! Apparently bathrooms in Australia are pretty awesome! Spent part of the night hearing all about them… You’d be jealous!

  13. anon Says:

    About getting back on topic, how did you miss this?

    http://www.cnn.com/2009/HEALTH/05/13/foul.refrigerator/

  14. Neil Says:

    A last August, I was on the motorcycle and my allergies were acting up. Congested. Big time. Wearing a half-helmet, I figured I could just do a snot-rocket and be hunky-dory.

    Wrong.

    70mph snot rockets don’t work. Maybe if you have a windshield; maybe. Otherwise expect a messy face, jacket, helmet, etc.


Leave a Reply

