not this town

May 26, 2009

This Memorial Day weekend, we loaded up the kids and gear and headed south to Goblin Valley, our favorite family hiking/camping spot.

Unfortunately it rained all weekend, so we ended up staying only one night. My super tent made conditions perfectly tolerable for sleeping, but if you stepped out of the tent, you sank 6 inches into the mud.

Shannon and her boys, who came with us, fared not as well. The rain came up under their tent, and they had standing water.

It was a short trip.

And it reminds me of our last trip south.

holden shoulders with just name

Let me take this opportunity to reiterate–we did NOT name our third child after this town. That would be lame.

We did NOT name him after William Holden. That would also be lame.

When I tell people he’s named after the great American anti-hero from Catcher In the Rye, most answer with a blank look, and say “oh, I haven’t seen that.”

For you guys, yes, we named him after this town. Now please keep walking.

holden on roof with sign

19 Responses to “not this town”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Now we know about Holden. Great movie.

    Did you get out on the road bike during your trip?

  2. mark Says:

    Wait, “Cather in the Rye” was a movie? Who knew?

  3. mark Says:

    I mean “Catcher” not “Cather.” If dug’s nice, he’ll fix the first comment and delete this one. Except that he bases his self worth on the number of comments he gets, so probably not.

  4. bikemike Says:

    that was a book? oh, yeah that’s the one with rosebud, now i remember.

  5. Bandit Says:

    You named him after a whiney, blame-everyone-else youth? Good luck to you.

  6. Steve Says:

    They haven’t heard of Catcher in the Rye ??

    What now, is supression of books with a few dirty words working ?

    • dug Says:

      steve, no, i think they’ve heard of it. they just don’t know it’s a book. they think it’s a prop in a mel gibson movie.

  7. Rachel Says:

    Not my favorite book, but I was 16 and umm…maybe a prude when I read it. However, I really like your Holden, so maybe I’ll give it another shot. Maybe.

  8. Lin Says:

    William Holden? You’re showing your age. Does anybody give you a blank stare when you say that name? (I know who he is because people have always told me that my father looked just like him. Or like a cross between William Holden/David Janssen.)
    P.S – never got people’s obsession with the book, it was just ok I thought.

  9. Geoff (John West's friend) Says:

    Where does your son stand on phonies?


  10. I actually know Holden (the town) quite well. There could be worse things than being named after it. There are some really great people from Holden–I may (or may not) have dated a few of them in High School! 🙂

  11. Elden Says:

    and all this time i thought his name was holdin’, with the apostraphe and everything.

  12. joe Says:

    So where is Delta? Did he push her over the edge?

  13. Flyin' Ute Says:

    I thought you just watched TV…Great Big TV’s!!!


  14. Totally awesome photos!


Leave a Reply

