anne frank lives

June 10, 2009

You know how sometimes, you make a joke, and you realize right after the words are out of your mouth, whoops, maybe you shouldn’t have joked about serial killers, or, you know, horrible suffering or death?

Well, sometimes you just have to go for it. Sometimes the Holocaust joke KILLS. (Ha.)

Kim n me n the crew went to a Luau party the other night, and as the evening wore on and the rest of the guests trickled away and we sat on the couch, wondering what to do next.

I don’t know who suggested it, but once it was out there, playing sardines was inevitable, even though the Lava Flows we’d been drinking were the non-loaded, family friendly variety. I think.

We didn’t even ask Adam and Kacy, who’s house we were in, if it was okay–we just sent someone off to hide, waited a few minutes, and headed off to look for him. Or her.

At one point, several of us had found the hider in a dark bathroom, door closed, lights out, and we could hear the lagging searchers out in the hall, whispering, wondering, searching. For us.

And Rick said, in a whisper, but loud enough for all of us squashed in the room to hear him, “I feel like Anne Frank.”

Is that one of those “you have to be there” jokes? I don’t know if it is. What I DO know is that every time I think of it, I laugh out loud. Totally giving myself away, all over again.

18 Responses to “anne frank lives”

  1. Rick S Says:

    That was a great movie. They really should publish it in a book format.

  2. Hamish A Says:

    Oh dear. I laughed. I’m going straight to hell, aren’t I?

  3. LT Says:

    My desk neighbor just asked what was so funny.

  4. Jonnie Says:

    I keep hearing about this Sardines game? You gotta fill me in.

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    If Anne Frank were alive, I’ll bet she’d laugh too. And she be awesome at sardines.

  6. Mike J Says:

    Our teenagers played sardines with their friends at our house all the time until the day I opened up the dryer to put something in and out came a kid. That was the end of sardines at our house. Now they just invade their friends dryers.

    btw, that anne frank joke killed.

  7. Eber Says:

    could rick not hear the searchers either? or you laughing at his joke to know how funny it was (er…I mean UNfunny)?

    i’m going to hell too.

  8. Tim D Says:

    Have you seen Ricky Gervais’ Animals?

    • bikemike Says:

      hey Tim, that’s exactly what i was thinking only more along the lines of sitting through an episode of “The Office”.

      i have to watch that on Hulu so i can fast forward through most of Michael’s stupidity. painful.

  9. Bebe Says:

    Forget the joke and the sardines… We saw all the cars, why weren’t we invited?!

  10. eber Says:

    so I’m driving back to the office just now and thinking how funny this post was when I realized something.

    “Wait Anne Frank could see AND hear.”

    Then I realized something else…I’m an idiot.

    As I read the post the first time, I fixated on Rick not SEEING anything…you know being in the dark bathroom and all. So I posted my comment thinking Rick was talking about Helen Keller. Hence my first comment in the post about him not hearing.

    Like I said. I’m an idiot.

    My first thought was to ask you to mercifully pull my first comment to spare me the ridicule. But then I realized that’is not your brand.

    So I resign myself to the having two of my comments in this post to stand in effigy.

  11. MOCougFan Says:

    Way to come clean Eber. Very funny.

    btw… am I the only one to think that the Anne Frank joke was probably not the only one dropped? I really can’t imagine dug and Rick being in a dark bathroom and not giggling or making noise of some sort.

    THOSE AREN’T PILLOWS!!!!!!!!

  12. Rob Says:

    How did Anne Frank Burn her face?

    By answering the iron!

    Oh wait…I think I messed that up.


Leave a Reply

