giving a little back

June 22, 2009

My Dad once offered me something like $200 to get my Eagle Scout award. He was from Canada, where instead of calling it a an “Eagle” they called it the “Queen.” Something about being an English colony, I don’t know. Really, it has nothing to do with this story.

Well, the part about him wanting me to get my Eagle is germane. Today, of course, he would be offering me a couple thousand dollars, due to inflation and all that. And he’d get the same response. Something along the lines of “sure dad, whatever.” And then we’d never discuss it again. Because I’m not really what you’d call a “Scouter.”

But Ian had a really good scoutmaster who got him off on the right foot, and once he got to Life scout, well, what’s the point of stopping there? Especially with how valuable having your Eagle is on your resume.

Ian also has a mother who had invested too much time to let him stop just shy of the Eagle. There’s a reason they say you should give the mother the Eagle, not the kid. And almost never the dad.

What’s the point of all this? Saturday was Ian’s eagle project. He/we got about 40 people to show up to build/improve a section of a Draper City biking trail. I’ve been a mountain biker for about 20 years, and until a couple weeks ago, had never done a single hour of actual trail work. If nothing else, helping Ian finish his Eagle has gotten that enormous, King Kong sized monkey off my back.

Some pics of the day.

The crew gathers (that’s Ian in the white sweatshirt):

gathering

crew on trail

We got to use manly firefighter type tools:

manly tools at work

The real Queen:

crew kim clean trail

Before:

rough corner

rough around corner

And, after:

clean rough corner

clean around corner trail

You can see the trail we’re trying to reach coming up from the canyon bottom across the canyon, middle right of the picture above.

Doesn’t this look like good trail? Wouldn’t you like to ride this trail?

sweet trail

I’m tellin you, I’m hooked on trail building. Thanks Ian.

18 Responses to “giving a little back”

  1. Jen Says:

    So if I send Walker your way, will you do another trail for his eagle project? Tell Kim and Ian good job!

  2. Rick S Says:

    Hands down, the best Eagle project ever.
    No pics of the donuts?

  3. Mike J Says:

    If you have to do scouting that beats the heck out of painting park benches. Way to go.

  4. mark Says:

    Trail building is fun. Wish I could’ve been there. Ian is awesome for getting that many people out. Or you’re awesome. Or Daylite Donuts is awesome. Whatever.

    Either way, kudos to Ian and all involved for building the trail. When are we breaking it in?

  5. mary Says:

    I love trail building. Been a mtn biker for just 18 mos, really a newbie, still scared to ride a tree pyramid..but LOVE that here in Greensboro NC I’ve been able to help build a trail- it reminds me of my childhood playing in the woods behind our home. And, when the trail is complete to know the places I had a “hand” in building.

  6. bikemike Says:

    was that germane or tito? i’m confused.

    sounds as if Ian getting you to help was a great father’s day gift…awesome.

  7. Jeff Says:

    I want to ride that trail!

    I too, wasn’t much of a scouter, but last year my little brother picked up where I failed and got his Eagle.

  8. KanyonKris Says:

    Funny observations, classic dug; eagle scout project, OK; pictures of trail work, I know some of those people; WHOA!, that’s the unfinished Maple Hollow trail over there!

    I love each and every trail one of you trail builders. I can’t wait until that trail is finished. If there’s more work to be done, sign me up.

  9. Grant Says:

    ok, so you and Elden had a competition to fit the word “germane” into a blog post? Did someone win?

  10. evilbanks Says:

    Great project Ian, congratulations brother……….

  11. Flyin' Ute Says:

    I only hire Eagle Scouts Ian. Call me anytime.

  12. stevenbpt Says:

    Wish I could have made it! How far did you get? Way to go Ian!!! I never liked scouting either, like your dad, but the activities were fun!!

  13. Andrew Says:

    Wait. You didn’t get your Eagle and you’re honest-to-goodness employed? You must have had something spectacular on your resume. Like the Noble Prize or something.

    • stevenbpt Says:

      Don’t tell anyone but Dug puts “Eagle Scout” on his resume so he continues to get hired. No one has done that thorough a background check on him. Now he looks even more legit with Ian getting his!!

  14. savvymama Says:

    For those of us involved but not on the trail,
    that was a great writeup with pics! Congrats
    to Ian and all those who helped (especially Kim)!!

  15. VaLene Says:

    Congratulations Ian, Kim, and Dug. That looked like a great project and a beautiful trail. I’ll give a gentle warning: The project is, without a doubt, a huge hurdle. However, the paperwork that follows to get the whole thing done is a pain!!! Hang in there a little longer. Maybe I’d have better luck finding a part-time job if my resume included, “Mom of an Eagle Scout.”


Leave a Reply

