To-Do List

July 10, 2009

Returning from any holiday makes me step back and evaluate my life. Viewing the visual splendors of Flaming Gorge has caused my soul to transcend to a higher realm. Rather than allowing my uplifted soul to descend back to its normal everyday state, I want to raise the quality of my life to the level of my soaring soul.
The following list offers the details of my hopes, dreams, and aspirations:

  • Achieve excellence in my employment. I shall inspire those I work with to reach for the brass ring. I shall rise to the top of the company ladder, but without stepping on others. I shall take very brief lunches, except for when they are power lunches, in which case they are not merely lunches at all, but important work. Also, I will propose that we move toward synchronized development and shall bone up on design architecture.
  • Begin each day with a sun worshipping ceremony. Make sure all the kids are up for this. Kim too. I’ve got costumes on order, easily obtained over the Internet. Technology is wonderful!
  • Finish reading Stanley Elkin’s The MacGuffin. I’m still on page 73. Frankly, I’m not convinced that The MacGuffin was an appropriate title for the book, and have quite a few other suggestions as well. I am noting these suggestions in the margins and will, once I am finished with the book, return it to the publisher along with a letter that they should implement my edits ASAP.
  • Deepen my relationships with Ian, Holden, and Maddy by having weekly one on one personal inventories. I am especially concerned about the fact that two of the three children (I will not here reveal which two) have locked aluminum boxes, large enough to hold explosives, among other things.
  • Begin with the end in mind. Live each day with the clear understanding that within 50 years, my mortal coil shall be cast into the ground and rotting. Also, I will never leave quad 1. No matter what. If someone comes to me with a quad 2 problem, I will either convert it to a quad 1 problem or simply tell that person that they are going to have to resolve the issue on their own.
  • Enrich my inner core through the medium of tantric activities. I’m working on that right this very second, actually.
  • Attain a higher level of respect within church circles. I will do this by being more generous with fast offerings and wearing a bow tie to church meetings.
  • Change my blog password.

6 Responses to “To-Do List”

  1. bikemike Says:

    Good luck, mate.

    at the top of my to-do list, is, to use my Sonicare toothbrush for the full two minutes. oh and replace my showerhead. not in any particular order though.

  2. evilreview Says:

    Why would you want to change your blog password? Your blog is AWESOME just as it is!

  3. mark Says:

    Given the comments along the lines of “best post ever” this week, I think I’d leave the password alone.

  4. KanyonKris Says:

    Brad, give dug his blog back.

    Why did I look up tantric? Blogging while tantric-ing? Were you also eating?

    Put down the 7 habits, as if you could be improved. (Will an appeal to dug’s vanity end this new dug?)

  5. eber Says:

    where are you right now? i’m gonna get a bunch of us and we’re gonna come kick your butt.

    buttercup pansy britches (your new password)

  6. stevenbpt Says:

    I like it. I could care less about the MacGuffin thing and I would definitely worry about the aluminum boxes but overall great list. And, I can’t believe you didn’t do a link for Tantric cause I have no idea what that is and I used the time to look it up writing you a reply. Take luck. I like Eber’s suggestion for a new password. Just don’t change the blog, much. Oh, and what the heck do you mean by Quad 1 and Quad 2. I only know the quad at BYU, if it still exists and they haven’t built on it.


Leave a Reply

