fight like susan

August 5, 2009

Everything ends badly. Otherwise it wouldn’t end.

fighting-for-susan

Fight like Susan.

allez

18 Responses to “fight like susan”

  1. Rose Says:

    Found you through FC’s blog and him through Pioneer Woman’s blog. I can’t express how sad I am for Elden, his family and his friends.

    Please continue to Fight LIKE Susan. Go Team Fatty!

  2. tohellandback1st Says:

    I am standing on the seashore,
    A ship sails and spreads her white sails to the morning breeze
    And starts for the ocean.
    She is an object of beauty and I stand watching her till at last she fades on the horizon, and someone at my side says “ she is gone”.
    Gone where?
    Gone from my sight that is all.
    She is just as large in the masts, hull and spurs, as she was when I saw her,
    and just as able to bear her load of living freight to its destination.
    The diminished size, the total loss of sight is in me not in her, and just at the moment when someone at my side says “She is gone”
    There are others who are watching her coming, and other voices take up the glad shout.
    “here she comes.”
    And that is DYING.

    Bishop Brent

    • MOCougFan Says:

      That was well said Bishop. Very well said. As one to another, I liked that. There are certainly very joyful reunions occuring right now with Susan. I frequently comment to those whom I do funerals for, that the pain and the difficulty is for those of us left behind. We are the ones that struggle. Not those dear ones that are passing on to peace, rest, and paradise.

  3. tohellandback1st Says:

    Charles Brent was an Episcopalian minister who served during World War One as the Senior Chaplain for the American Armed Forces in Europe.

    This is the most comforting advice on how to view death that I have ever found, but I didn’t write it and I’m certainly no Bishop.

    • MOCougFan Says:

      Twas a great quote. I do appreciate your sharing it. I hope to be able to give comfort to others with it.

    • Bandit Says:

      A lot of sites on the interweb give credit to this as from Henry Van Dyke. It may be that Bishop Brent used it but did not write it. Can’t tell for sure.

      • tohellandback1st Says:

        I also found it attributed to Henry Scott Holland, and several sites that said it was anonymous; you are correct, however, that most sites attributed it to Henry Van Dyke.

      • tohellandback1st Says:

        Yea, I’ve done some searching since getting home and while some sites attributed it to Henry Scott Holland, and some just called it anonymous, most attributed the poem to Van Dyke.

        Next time I need it I will probably find sites that attribute it to Dug or tohellandback1st…

        • Bandit Says:

          I saw the Holland reference, too. Since Van Dyke preceeded the others, I am guessing it is his. Regardless, I like the poem. Thanks for sharing it.

  4. fish Says:

    From Bob’s Blog – “A great fight like that is always a victory.” Those were the words that I’d been looking for.

  5. Grizzly Adam Says:

    She fought.

    I can’t imagine how hard this has all been for the Nelson’s. But, selfishly perhaps, we are all better people at having witnessed such a valiant fight. Even watching from afar.

    I hate cancer. It has taken too many friends and family members. I hate it.

  6. bikemike Says:

    Dug, i’ve been on vacation all week and just got Elden’s post. I know we don’t “know” one another but if you could give Elden a big manly hug for me, i’d greatly appreciate it.

    Elden, i love you, man.

    Thank you, Dug, for being Elden’s friend.


  7. Ditto what Bikemike says…

  8. Phil Says:

    I have never met Elden or Susan, but I’ve read the Fat Cyclist for 2 years and I’m absolutely devastated, I can only offer further condolences and say just how much of an inspiration Elden and Susan Nelson have been to me.

  9. Adventure Nell Says:

    Condolences to you and your family Dug. I have lost friends and it is painful.

    FIGHT LIKE SUSAN

    Nell

  10. MOCougFan Says:

    I don’t want to overcomment here, but…

    I couldn’t help but feel for you as well right now
    dug. I have a good friend that I’ve known for 17 some years. When I want to ride, it’s he I want to ride with. If his wife went thru this, I’d be a total mess. So my condolances to you as well. I know it must be hard. You and Elden have a unique way of letting us into your lives. Not sure that’s good or bad, but it certainly makes me feel more for you.

    Sorry brother.

  11. Ty Says:

    Sorry dug, just heard the news this morning. Please pass on our deepest regrets to Elden.

  12. stevenbp Says:

    Sorry bro. Loved mikes poem. (van dykes)


Leave a Reply

