land of the giants

September 1, 2009

Sometimes, not all times, but many times, I stop at a local Beans n Brews to pick up a flavored hot chocolate on my way to work.

Apparently my local Beans n Brews constructed their drive-up window to cater to either the Monster Truck demographic or the lesser known Draper Mom Driving Giant Escalade demographic.

high tip jar

Well, hopefully, those driving back hoes and monster trucks tip well enough to compensate for my inability to reach the tip jar from the lowly reaches of my Outback. I feel like Gulliver, if Lilliputions drove big SUVs.

7 Responses to “land of the giants”

  1. brkeyes7 Says:

    You flavor your hot chocolate? I should be shocked.

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    You should be grateful they deigned to admit a commoner such as you.

    Did you speak with respect to your royal order taker? Grovel and plead for a drink fit for kings and queens? Look down, not meeting their gaze, as you reached for the cup. Kept silent as they spilled the hot liquid which burned the flesh of your hand?

    If so then you have done well, serf. You may come again and beg for more.

  3. bikemike Says:

    $6.95 for a double-decaf-mocha-frapachino AND a tip…methinks your vehicle was just the right height

  4. Jeff Says:

    Flavored hot chocolate? Can you be more specific? You have my curiosity piqued.

  5. VaLene Says:

    Do you ever get the Abuelita hot chocolate from Maverik? World’s best kept secret.

  6. BotchedExperiment Says:

    My mom used to put Dewar’s Scotch in my hot chocolate. I’ll bet that’s what dug had in his.

  7. KanyonKris Says:

    The outdoor tip jar is a first for me. That’s seriously lame. Is the impersonal drive-thru experience or the product tip-worthy?

    These tip jars have proliferated over the last few years. We’re becoming a nation of beggars.


Leave a Reply

