don’t forget to breathe

September 2, 2009

After a recent sprint to the guard shack at the mouth of American Fork Canyon (won by Sunderlage, if you must know), me n Sleepy and Eber and Rick were all talking about how much energy it takes to sprint.

I mean, I feel worse after a sprint than I do after cresting the Alpine Loop. I’m literally gasping for air during the half mile it takes to actually exit the canyon below the guard shack. Oddly, the other guys concurred on the effort, but none had the same gasping problem I did.

I guess it’s the same as when Kim asks me why I’m gasping for air. I dunno.

Apparently, like Annabelle Bransford, when I get excited I hold my breath.

12 Responses to “don’t forget to breathe”

  1. bikemike Says:

    that’s what happens when you go all mavericky…doncha know

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    Another sign of manopause. I get that too.

  3. forgingahead Says:

    I learned to breathe by doing yoga 🙂

  4. mark Says:

    I’m trying to figure out how to sprint without feeling like I’m going to throw up afterward. The catching my breath part is challenging but doable. The urge to vomit lasts longer and is often more problematic.

  5. Rick S. Says:

    Who usually wins the sprint? You or Kim?

  6. stevenbpt Says:

    How do you remember those things? I know, you’ve been asked that before and you don’t know but I cont. to be amazed.

  7. Aaron Says:

    If you’re forgetting to breath, you must only have about one or two minutes of sprinting in you. Oh well, 2 minutes of sprinting is better than 1 minute of sprinting.

  8. Mary Says:

    Don’t look now, but here’s something else that will take your breath away … the chupacabra … found!
    http://www.cnn.com/video/data/2.0/video/offbeat/2009/09/01/roldan.chupacabra.KSAT.html

  9. sleepy Says:

    Jaynann asked why I had Breathe Right strips on the other night.


Leave a Reply

