hey let’s go

September 21, 2009

I think I’ve mentioned my love of waiting rooms. But I ran into a new wrinkle–the “kid friendly” waiting room. It’s not the first time I’ve seen kid friendly apparatus in a waiting room–my old dentist even had a Wii set up for kids.

We visited an office of the more, well, homeopathic sort, and they didn’t exactly have a Wii:

totoro waiting room

Is that a gigantic Totoro? Can you even imagine letting your kids play on a giant stuffed Totoro that’s probably been in that waiting room for over 10 years (or more, from the looks of that paneling)?

I didn’t get a chance to snap pictures of the rest of the room, so you’ll just have to trust me when I say we were barely comfortable sitting in the chairs, much less imagining kids playing with the old stuffed animals, all supervised by the giant, missing-ear Totoro.

And yet. Witch doctor woman is getting results. If it helps with the back pain, we’ll get our own giant stuffed Totoro.

7 Responses to “hey let’s go”

  1. stevenbpt Says:

    Maybe they spray it with disinfectant every hour, every night? Maybe it’s designed to increase repeat business (infectious diseases and such) It certainly doesn’t inspire calm and relaxation. Some witch doctor!

  2. Rick S. Says:

    Did they let you pick out a treat from the treat jar on the way out?

  3. eric Says:

    Don’t you wonder what happened to that missing ear? There’s gotta be a story there.
    Maybe he lost it in a death match with that purple thing in his lap.

  4. forgingahead Says:

    witch doctor? sounds mysterious.

  5. Olivia Says:

    What’s next, a giant tub full of slimy, plastic balls to jump into?

  6. KanyonKris Says:

    Perhaps my memory of the movie is faulty, but I recall Totoro always had a blank expression, never said anything and had magical powers – and yet the kid was drawn to him. Kind of creeped me out. If I walked into that waiting room and spotted that dumpy Totoro I’d about-face right out the door.


Leave a Reply

