zombieland with a bullet

October 9, 2009

At a recent time I don’t want to disclose publicly, I spent some quality team building time at the cineplex, where I was treated to the latest example of Woody Harrelson’s new genius–Zombieland.

It was awesome. So awesome it got me thinking of my favorite goofy monster movies. And while I hate to get too excited about something that’s only been around for a couple weeks, Zombieland is now on the top of the list, with a bullet.

Here’s the top five:

1. Zombieland–Brilliant. Funny, gory, tender, and, did I mention, funny? With a magical cameo by Bill Murray, and a line that, for some reason, still cracks me up: “I hate coconut. And not because of the taste, it’s the texture.” My only complaint? There should have been more virtuoso zombie killing. A quibble, I guess.

2. Tremors–I had forgotten about Tremors until recently, when me n the boys stumbled on it on TV. It’s almost perfect. And I can always use more Kevin Bacon in my life.

3. Shaun of the Dead–Described by Wikipedia as “a 2004 British romantic zombie comedy.” Hmm. If you haven’t seen or heard of Shaun of the Dead, or you aren’t into Zombie movies, it might be too late for you. Wait, what am I saying? Put it in your cue–it’s laugh out loud funny.

4. Arachnophobia–A rare combination of funny AND scary. Kept me out of my own basement for months.

5. Gremlins–Are you kidding? Phoebe Cates? Little monsters? The Bathroom Buddy? I’m embarrassed to say, I haven’t fired this one up with the boys. Putting it in the queue. And that reminds me, it might be time to see Fast Times At Ridgemont High again.

Honorable Mention: Eight Legged Freaks–Worth it just to see the giant trapdoor spiders jump out and snag the fleeing citizenry.

22 Responses to “zombieland with a bullet”

  1. forgingahead Says:

    I am a big giant chicken about scary movies. Even dumb scary ones.

  2. PM - Teambuilder Says:

    I’ve heard good reviews of that, can’t wait to see it.

  3. Steve Says:

    might have to get Rob to see that with me, the wife didn’t look interested. Of course, the last movie of this genre that someone told me was more funny than scary/gory was Dawn of the Dead and I left at intermission.

  4. mtb w Says:

    I am a big wuss. I avoid scary/horror flicks like the plague, which is hard to do in the fall. I suspect my excuses to wimp out are getting very threadbare. But Shaun of the Dead is a classic zombie comedy (if there is such a genre) – pure gold, that one. Best scene is where they are throwing LPs at zombies while discussing which records to keep and which ones to throw.

  5. bikemike Says:

    shaun of the dead, are you kidding me…HI-LAR-IUS.

    oh and woody harrelson’s other zombie movie, no country for old men…tell me that anton chigurh is not a living zombie. holy crap that’s one scary dude.

    phoebe cates…well, that just pretty much says it all. (whatever “all” is)

  6. mark Says:

    “I hate coconut. And not because of the taste, it’s the texture.”

    I’m 100% with Tallahassee on this one. I’ve actually never eaten a snowball for precisely this reason.

    Raisins, on the other hand, are eschewed for reasons of taste alone. As are brussels sprouts.

  7. Phil Says:

    Shaun of the Dead is hilarious; straying from the Zombie theme, if you like Simon Pegg and Nick Frost, you should check out Spaced. That was a brilliant show.

  8. jdub Says:

    Watched Fast Times at Ridgemont last week, classic.

  9. Doug Says:

    I watched Shaun of the Dead at Brewvies. It was fantastic. The only complaint was my nacho’s had too many jalepeno’s and I got the hick ups.

  10. Longman Says:

    If you like Shaun of the Dead you gotta watch ‘Hot Fuzz’ it’s not a horror, it’s a comedy and is British humour at it’s best!

  11. tohellandback1st Says:

    i’m a major wuss when it comes to horror, but since you changed the category to goofy monster movies, 2-5 are all classics i loved (and that i’d never see again). i’d even go with Rob and Steve to the new one, but i won’t be there till december.

    i’d nominate An American Werewolf in London.

    • dug Says:

      i do love american werewolf in london. and it’s funny. but is it too scary for this category?

      maybe not. him screaming “queen elizabeth is a MAN” makes it funny enough to be on this list. good catch.

    • stevebpt Says:

      We would probably have to do it on DVD by then…I can wait. Rob?

  12. chris Says:

    “Return of the Living Dead”…Zombies, skin, laughs, and great soundtrack.

  13. Grant Says:

    Have you seen 28 Days Later? One of the best…

  14. Jonnie J Says:

    Interview with a Vampire. Its a pre-cursor to Tom Cruises true creepiness.


  15. Awesome flick for sure… if you haven’t seen evil dead, buba ho tep, or army of darkness you need to!

  16. andy Says:

    i’m sorry but shawn of the dead has got to be way above zombieland. watch the latter tonight and while i enjoyed it, i think they could have done more with it.

    for instance, was there ever a second where you were kind of scared? i wasn’t. and i was in a theater pretty much by myself. also, isn’t it kind of a rule that in all zombie movies, the last scene shows how they’re pretty much still screwed?

    i agree, the cameo by bill murray was awesome. his dying whistle/breath was SOO funny.

  17. CB Says:

    Zombieland…great flick
    Shaun of the Dead…even better
    Fast Times at Ridgemont High….mmmm…Phoebe Cates and diving boards….mmmmm
    (wow…how creepy was I just then?)


Leave a Reply

