the doctor is in

October 19, 2009

Ian badly twisted his ankle skateboarding a month or so back, and has been a bit gimpy ever since.

And yet, of course, he’s out on the trampoline with a tramp board practicing his tricks pretty much every day. And he hasn’t skipped any lacrosse games or practices. Not even when we warn him that ski season is fast approaching and he’ll want full use of his feet for when the snow flies in earnest.

All this got me thinking about ignoring doctor’s advice, something I’ve made a lifelong practice, especially if it contradicts, not so much my own gut feeling, but my schedule. That is, if the doctor’s advice interferes with fun, it must be stupid advice. If the advice gets in the way of work, or, you know, work, then I say Listen Up!

My brother Dave once broke his arm, had it set, rode his bike against doctor’s orders pretty much right away, and broke it again, but less cleanly. The doctor wasn’t so delicate with setting it this time. Hearing him recount how the doctor just grabbed his arm and “set” it still makes me wince.

But the best ignoring of doctor’s advice award has to go to Brad.

A couple of years ago, Brad noticed something weird about his heart. Not that he didn’t have feelings (he does) or too many feelings (he doesn’t), but that his heart beat a bit funkier than maybe yours or mine. He went to the cardiologist, who did a battery of tests and told him he probably had a congenital heart defect, some kind of hole in a chamber or something, and he would be very wise to avoid any strenuous activity until they could arrange an entirely new and more complete battery of tests.

So, of course, Brad rented a couple movies, and spent a few restful evenings at home, reading books and watching old films.

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.

Or. Or rather than take the cardiologist’s advice (the guy who just looked at his EKG and such) to heart and waiting for the verdict, Brad decided to do his OWN test.

He went and rode up Big Cottonwood Canyon, setting a personal best time to Guardsman Pass. He figured, “If I die, my heart was faulty. If I don’t die, my heart is fine.”

Nowadays I run all big medical questions by Brad. He seems to have a knack for that kind of thing.

10 Responses to “the doctor is in”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Oh, you mean natural selection?

  2. stevebpt Says:

    If the ride hadn’t killed me the wife would have!! Being a therapist I always (almost!!) tell my patients to obey me and their doctor. But it’s a little harder when it’s me that is supposed to listen. Do you have Brad’s number just in case? Or better yet, his SS#, I have a life insurance policy I want to buy!

  3. Rick S. Says:

    I’m reaching the age when doctors recommend that special kind of physical that requires a glove and some chain lube. I know I should get checked out but I’ve been avoiding it until bike and ski season are over.

  4. UpNorth Says:

    My boyfriend broke his ankle last year. Couldn’t work for six weeks (doctor’s orders), but had no problems with camping/golfing etc. Hmmm…..

  5. eric Says:

    Hey, I’m the guy who refused to believe my Achilles was actually torn right up until they put me on the operating table.
    “Hey guys. What’s up? What’s with the funny hats? What are you going to do with that knife? What’s that needle fo…..”
    Denial, it really is a guy thing.


Leave a Reply

