how bad? real bad

October 23, 2009

On a scale of 1-10, ten being the most wigged out, how wigged out are you when you put your money in the machine and get the wrong soda/candy bar?

Does it depend on how wrong the candy bar is?

Like, how bout if you put seventy five cents in the machine, push A6 for a Butterfinger, and you end up with a Snickers? Notwithstanding that Snickers is somehow marketed as a newfangled kind of energy bar, that’s a solid SEVEN on the disappointment meter for me.

But when I put sixty five cents in the machine, push the Diet Coke button, and out comes a root beer? Well, that one goes to eleven.

33 Responses to “how bad? real bad”


  1. If I pressed the button for a Diet Coke and a regular Coke with vanilla came out that would be an 11. That stuff is the worst. It might even require a post it note being attached to the soda machine asking for a refund.

  2. Annie Says:

    A root beer might be a 12 for me.

  3. bikemike Says:

    they might as well give me elephant urine as root beer.

  4. Flyin' Ute Says:

    Where is a machine that gives a diet coke for .65? That is a sweet deal!!! You are sooo lucky.

    I’ve been paying .75 for mine.

    Oh, ignorance WAS bliss!

  5. stevebpt Says:

    11? On a scale to 1-10? Doesn’t exist. You are imagining things. You too Annie. I don’t discount the disappointment getting a root beer instead of Diet Coke. But you set the scale and 10 is as bad as it gets. The worst you could ever feel. It goes about 8 or 9 for me. On the other hand, getting a snickers instead of a butterfinger, now that is a 1/10. I would give thanks the machine knew me better than that.

    • dug Says:

      dude. take a pill. this isn’t the pain scale. this scale is WAAY more flexible.

      get out of the box man.

    • Rob (dug's brother) Says:

      Dude, ALL things CAN go to eleven. We’ve covered this a couple of days ago when Jake went to eleven.

      • stevenbpt Says:

        Sorry guys, not buying it. You want to go to 11, 12 or 15, make your scale go there! Top, worst, best whatever you want goes at the end of the scale. If you find something you think goes beyond, adjust your scale and/or thinking!

        • dug Says:

          my scale is infinity. and whatever you say bounces off me and sticks to you.

        • Bandit Says:

          Ratings something a 11 on a 10 point scale comes the movie “This Is Spinal Tap.” When discussing an amp that goes to 10, one guy argues “Why not just make 10 louder and make that the top?”

          But rating something a 11 on a 10 point scale is like saying I thought I knew what the top was, but this is even more. Changing the scale does not convey this.

  6. Rick S. Says:

    Here in the land of milk and honey, a 20oz diet coke costs 40 cents. It’s the main reason I’m sticking around. But I wouldn’t pay 5 cents for a root beer. That stuff goes straight to your hips.

    • dug Says:

      i’m guessing with the acquisition, you’re looking at at LEAST seventy five cents. time to start looking around.

  7. Nate Kingdon Says:

    what if the root beer came with ice cream? Would that make it any better? I realize that its not likely to happen, but what if it did?

  8. bob Says:

    I’m gonna open a diet coke rehab in Utah county. I’ll be rich and get repeat customers, ala Lohan.

  9. Jason Says:

    What’s up with all the hating on Root Beer – I like Root Beer.

    • Rob (dug's brother) Says:

      It’s not about the intrinsic value (or lack thereof), it’s expecting the divine taste of a diet coke when you oh so need one, but you get something else entirely.
      Not even gonna go on about the fact that you lose out on the caffeine factor.

      • CB Says:

        I suggest a nice frothy Henry Weinhards Root Beer. The great taste of root beer and the caffeine. (Although probably not as much as your Diet Coke)

  10. mark Says:

    I wouldn’t be particularly disappointed with either scenario. But then again, I’m easy to please and never go off about anything.

  11. KanyonKris Says:

    I submit it’s worse to get the wrong drink than the wrong candy. Agreed?

  12. Scott Says:

    I once put money in a vending machine, expecting a bag of Cool Ranch Doritos, and instead out comes a bag of Hot Fries. Nastus. Hot Fries are awful, they taste like aluminum foil. My biggest waste of 50 cents ever. I would rank that as an “8” on the annoyance scale.

  13. lifein360 Says:

    ummm, where the hell do you live where candy bars and soda is less than a dollar!!! A bottle of water in Canada in a machine is 2$. Forget candy….you need to write a cheque for that.

  14. tohellandback1st Says:

    they have a diet coke trace detector at heaven’s gate. anything more than 2nd hand fumes and you don’t get in.

  15. forgingahead Says:

    At work we have a glass jar so no risk of losing the $


Leave a Reply

