why am i talking this way?

October 30, 2009

Did I go to Meet the Candidates Night” at Draper city hall last night? Yes I did.

How did I like it? I spent much of the evening texting my daughter, who was sitting about 20 feet away, funny things about the candidates and their pompous attitudes (and their funny hair).

Do I love when people talk in questions? How could you not love that? Who DOESN’T love that? Can you imagine me NOT loving that?

Do the candidates LOVE Draper? Are they DESPERATE to serve Draper? Do they think every single candidate except them is a a crazy Tax and Spend twit? Yes Yes Yes.

Are most of the candidates for Draper City Council bloviating knuckleheads who think they are the smartest guys in any given room? Um, duh. ARE they the smartest guys in the room? Have you ever been to a city council meeting?. Do I think the city will manage to run itself no matter which of these “politicians” (the 14 year old (I swear, he can’t be older than that) running for city council actually referred to himself as a politician, even though he’s never held elected office, and is running for DRAPER city council) wins the election to our little city council? Natch.

Why am I talking this way? I can’t stop. Did the candidates do every pompous thing short of refer to themselves in the third person? Wait, they did that too? They did that WHILE they tried to be self-deprecating? How awesome is that?

If all politics are local, we are in big trouble.

10 Responses to “why am i talking this way?”

  1. KanyonKris Says:

    Kris and politicians don’t get along.

    You sound like a reporter. I read your post in a Walter Cronkite voice and it sounded very dignified and important.

    So, I guess you’ll not be voting in the Draper election. Or if you do you’ll use the “eenie, meenie, minee, moe” method to select a candidate, er politician, natch?

    But, hey, way to get involved. See, you’re part of the solution now.

  2. bikemike Says:

    (I’m stealing this, i know)

    what i think i hear politicians say: We love our community, mike, we want to do good things for the community, mike.

    what they are actually saying: blah blah blah, mike. blah blah blah, mike.

    God, i miss Gary Larson.

    • stevebpt Says:

      AMEN!

    • KanyonKris Says:

      Amen + 1

      “Nature abhorred a vacuum” was my all-time favorite.

      • mtb w Says:

        I miss Larson’s craziness too. Your quote is right up there with his cartoon on what we say to dogs and what dogs hear.

      • tohellandback1st Says:

        my favorite Larson was the broken jar labeled ‘humans’ and all the people running out and a voice in Heaven is saying, ‘uh oh’

        and, dug, it sounds like you are giving private twitter sessions. next time you’re making fun of politicians, twitter the rest of us, too…

        (not that i have any idea how twitter works, except that it seems to get a lot of famous people in trouble)

  3. Mike J Says:

    Mike J wonders if they also uttered subliminal messaged under their breath while they were speaking. “I love the city of(vote for me) Draper”!!!

  4. Jason Says:

    Amen brother – the calibur of most of our local officials is disturbing, seems like we’re going the way of people with poor private sector options or qualifications looking to try and make it in the public sector. Bugs the hell out of me when they pull it off.

  5. Shelle Says:

    Did you have fun?

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Was that YOUR “Why do you hate SunCrest” question?

    I’m having a hard time finding a single candidate I can support wholeheartedly, but there are some who I cannot abide having in office, so I guess I’ll vote for the others.


Leave a Reply

