average

November 2, 2009

At what age do kids learn about averages in school? While we were watching game 4 of the World Series last night, Holden was having a hell of a time getting his arms around the idea that someone could get a hit 2.5 times for every 10 at bats. “Wait. How can you get a HALF a hit?”

I think it took me about a half hour before I had successfully explained how this worked. I finally got the idea across when I stopped using “for every ten at bats” as my scale and went to 100 and 1,000. Then it clicked.

Which really doesn’t say much for me, I guess, does it? I’m kind of stuck in a box. All of me, not just that one part of me.

6 Responses to “average”

  1. bikemike Says:

    yeah, i never could get out of that box to do much thinking, either.

  2. mark Says:

    mean, median, or mode?

  3. Rick S. Says:

    Did you try to explain it in terms of a straw and a string? That one always seems to clear things up nicely.

  4. stevebpt Says:

    That’s because it’s not your box, it’s Holdens. He’ll climb out of it soon enough.

  5. KanyonKris Says:

    I see the root cause of the problem here: It’s not your job to educate your children. That’s why you pay taxes. Get with the times, this is the Homer Simpson generation, not Father Knows Best.

    • bikemike Says:

      Bud was so cool in that show. Kitten was too whiney until she went to the Andy Griffith Show…then she was hot. How the heck did he pick Helen Crump over Elenor Donahue.

      what was the question?


Leave a Reply

