my new maf filter

November 13, 2009

Cars are like a big black box to me. I’ve had cars where I need to add oil pretty much every time I fill the tank with gas, and, well, I can do that. Once, with a friend’s help, I even changed the spark plugs in my 1980 Mazda RX7. But mostly my answer to car trouble is “I’ve got people for that.”

Recently our 1988 Toyota Landcruiser (180k miles) started sounding like it was working a little too hard going up Suncrest. And since I really really want this car to go to 300k, I decided to get all pro-active. Like, take it in before it throws a rod (RIP 1994 Landcruiser).

Apparently my 1998 Landcruiser with over 180,000 miles was still on its original set of spark plugs. Which may not say much for ME, but it says a LOT for those plucky little plugs.

And I’m told my MAF sensor needed servicing. I said “so service it. Whatever the hell the MAF sensor does, I don’t want it going unserviced.”

Anyway. When I picked up the car after it got its day of love at the shop, I went inside, where he showed me the list of stuff they did, I paid, he handed me the key, I went outside, fired it up, and drove off.

That’s when I thought, huh, I just paid him and drove away. He didn’t take me out to the car and show me the new plugs, or how happy the MAF filter was now that it had been serviced. In fact, nobody has ever taken me out to the shop and shown me how great my new transmission is.

This happens all the time. My dentist doesn’t show me the old fillings, or even the new crown. Maddy got 4 screws in her shoulder, and we saw an x-ray of them, but I guess that x-ray could just be computer generated. When the guy came to clean the ducts, I never went and looked inside the ducts after he left.

On the other hand, my Toyota guy did something no other mechanic I’ve visited has ever done before. He called the next day and asked how the car was doing. “I bet that MAF filter is running great NOW” he said.

I’ve had companies call with customer satisfaction surveys. I’ve had chiropractors call and ask how the neck feels. But a car mechanic? “How’s the car, running better?”

I’ll write him blank checks anytime.

16 Responses to “my new maf filter”

  1. JZ Says:

    My landcruiser needs some lovin, who is this guy?

  2. stevebpt Says:

    If I call you to see how you’re doing the day after you come visit or I go visit you will you write me a blank check? Cause, I’m all about good customer service!! I can extend that to family. So, did you ever figure out what a MAF sensor/filter does?

  3. brkeyes7 Says:

    I love those guys, they are the best. They may be bending me over but they make it feel good. I won’t go anywhere else.

  4. chtrich Says:

    I feel the same way about my guy.

  5. Rick Says:

    MAF = mass air flow sensor
    It tells the computer how hard the engine is breathing and adjusts the breathing rate to meet the current conditions. [Feel free to make your own cycling analogies]

  6. ricky Says:

    Don’t be fooled. That guy doesn’t know a MAF from a PAP. The next call you get from him will be to invite you and your lovely bride to a special dinner at his house where you can meet an average guy, like you and me, who has found a way to make $10M a week. Don’t call me!

    Happy your cruiser’s all better.

  7. tohellandback1st Says:

    a mechanic that calls to check up? that’s gold!

  8. Tommy F Says:

    I place a good, trustworthy and reasonably priced mechanic right below a good spouse. Of course, having shed my Chrysler bucket of bolts for a Mazda helped a great deal.

    P.S. Found you through Fatty. How many times do you hear that?

  9. coollovedudelove Says:

    hi…….
    I m sure many of you are like me and one of the first things you do in the morning is head here and check out the new post. Along with seeing the new posts, I’m also always checking out the blog roll rss feed and watching them grow, or shrink sometimes. In one of my past …but all in all excellent site. Keep it up!
    thanks.
    used toyota landcruiser–used toyota landcruiser


Leave a Reply

