when in rome

November 23, 2009

Kim and I met up with Sunderlages and Gaoirans (crazy as it sounds, those are actual names–I think they’re Comanche Indian) for some pizza Saturday night in Orem.

Pizzeria Seven Twelve sits right in the middle of a strange, unfinished, mostly unoccupied business condo development right off State Street in Orem. In fact, driving into the parking lot felt a bit like entering the set of Blade Runner, except it wasn’t raining and we weren’t being pursued by freakily realistic androids. As far as I know. I would know, right?

The restaurant itself was awesome.

outside

The pizza was also awesome–I hear the chef is of Sundance stock, ex or current I didn’t find out.

I like when restaurants have cool wall art. This one left me a bit puzzled, however:

tilted woman

I’ll let you decide what kind of jokes we made for about ten solid minutes.

The real puzzler, though (of course) was in the bathroom. On the one hand, the bathroom was quite nice:

bathroom nice

On the other hand, please riddle me the reasoning behind this:

chairs empty

I mean, really. Is that the waiting area? And I thought Redbox and Southwest meant pressure.

But, you know, when in Rome . . .

chairs occupied

27 Responses to “when in rome”

  1. mark Says:

    The best part is Sleepy and Rick posing for the photo. Is Rick staring down the imaginary pooper?

    Too bad you didn’t have a fourth so we could get a glimpse of what the guy on the hot seat is feeling.

  2. KanyonKris Says:

    (WARNING: Simulated action by trained actors, do not attempt.)

    What do you have on Rick and Sleepy? Must be something big.

    Have those chairs been flagged?

    • KanyonKris Says:

      In case the “flagged” Seinfeld reference wasn’t clear:

      Those chairs in the bathroom are the same as the ones in the dining area. So if they pull some chairs from the “back room”, well, I hope you have some Lysol wipes.

      I just hope they don’t rotate all the chairs through “the back room”.

  3. bikemike Says:

    i’m just admiring the whole monkey bar set up on the wall…there’s a whole lotta stuff going on in that stall.

  4. Rick S. Says:

    I didn’t want to walk into the bathroom as a threesome. Especially since it was a one-hole lockable but Dug offered to buy my dinner if I agreed.

  5. Brandon Says:

    Looks like both Rick and Sleepy are really trying to keep a straight face.

  6. Jason Says:

    I wanna know the material from your recruitment speach at the dinner table when you decided to stage that photo. Maybe Rick’s cheap, but have to think it must have taken a heck of a speach by you to make that happen.

    That photo would make for a good “create a caption” contest.

  7. gbrown Says:

    Belly laughing over this one. Just wish in the staged photo you would have been on the throne with your trousers around your ankles, reading a book thoughtfully.
    Next time.

  8. tohellandback1st Says:

    ‘no, no, you were here first…’

  9. MOCougFan Says:

    I can just imagine you 3 giggling like little girls. I would love to have a camera OUTSIDE the bathroom to picture the girls walking by and listening.

    Classic Dug. Classic.

  10. Miles Archer Says:

    The women in the painting’s name is Eileen.

  11. Big Boned Says:

    That picture reminds me of basic training in the Army – really.
    I did basic back in 1983 (yeah, I’m old…so what?). We lived in buildings constructed for training WWII troops. The urinal was one long trough, and the shitters were holes cut into plywood over a big pit – no seat, just a whole – and you were shoulder to shoulder (sans any dividing wall) with some of the best friends you were ever going to have (less a prison sentence). I can’t remember dropping any bombs on that range during daylight hours.
    Big Boned

  12. BotchedExpeiment Says:

    I’d have to go first, because I hate sitting on a butt-warmed crapper seat.

  13. Nick - Seattle Says:

    You know – I have only ever seen photos of the ‘waiting area’ in blogs based in Utah.

    What (if anything) does that mean.

  14. VaLene Says:

    That is a yummy restaurant. Do you know why it’s called Pizzeria Seven Twelve? I do.


Leave a Reply

