radio tivo

December 14, 2009

You know how awesome Tivo is, right? Or any DVR I guess, but since Tivo is what I have, Tivo is what I love.

But what I need, now is Tivo for my radio. I’ll be listening to NPR, some story about anything, really, but since I’m in my car, I’m staring out the window, I get distracted, I start thinking about my 6th birthday party that happened in the middle of a family vacation road trip in a motel in North Dakota when I got a baseball bat and a flashlight, and suddenly I hear a phrase on the radio that catches my attention, like maybe ” . . . and THAT’S how I managed to to bump up the appraisal on my house and get it refinanced.”

And I frantically start pushing buttons on the radio to rewind, as if I’m watching an episode of So You Think You Can Dance and Elenor and Legacy just did flips over the table and landed on their spinning heads. Rewind. REWIND!

Doesn’t work.

But why not? I ask you, WHY NOT?

26 Responses to “radio tivo”

  1. Shelle Says:

    Write that down on the white board.

  2. Annie Says:

    Our NPR station offers something during the pledge drive called a radio bookmark. You can push the button during an interesting program (I think it’s something on your keychain, maybe?), and then when you get home, you pop it in a USB port, and it pulls up the shows you wanted to hear or rehear…

  3. bikemike Says:

    loves me some NPR, all things considered.

  4. Ken Says:

    Griffin Technology has a “radio SHARK 2” that records FM radio onto your computer. Might want to give that a try.

  5. LT Says:

    All I hear is Radio Ga Ga….

  6. mark Says:

    I have thought the same thing many times. I finally just gave up on radio.

  7. KanyonKris Says:

    I’ve wanted this feature so many times. Same thing, I zone out, or you know, actually have to pay attention to traffic for a while, and hear the tantalizing tail end of a story that I’m sure was fascinating. And I mean to go look for the podcast/MP3 but rarely do – the time has passed.

    It can’t cost much to put a chunk of memory into the radio so I can go back, say a few minutes. Drives me nuts knowing the tech to do this is so easy and yet it isn’t available. Heck, my kids MP3 players can record FM. A crying shame.

  8. brkeyes7 Says:

    You are like a magician with your radio tivo distraction. The real story here is Elenor and Legacy, really?

  9. VA Biker Says:

    I’m on a Mexican radio. I’m on a Mexican, whoa-oh, radio…

  10. Christopher Says:

    I have often wished I had the 5-second rewind button for real life, not just the radio. You’re at a meeting and zone out, and then someone says something interesting. Wait, what led to that? What were those numbers again? If only I had that button.

  11. evilbanks Says:

    I remember thinking how sweet it would be to pause or rewind live TV…..you know so you can get up, get a snack or take a piss………….
    Fast forward to the mid 2000’s and here we are. Pausing and rewinding live TV rules.

  12. Drew Watkins Says:

    Two words: iPod Nano

    It can pause and rewind live radio up to 15 minutes, and you can tag songs for iTunes download later.

  13. ricky Says:

    love the idea. can we get that stuff bundled with a windshield cleaning, quasi vacuum job, and a sloppy oil change? oh, while you’re down there…will you please change my oil filter, auto cd cleaner, digital radio frequency adjuster, and cigarette lighter? it’s been 3,000 miles already.

  14. UtRider Says:

    I’m still mad that Legacy was voted off. How lame was that? And while I’m not a huge fan of Mollie, I’m still not sure why Ashleigh stayed in the competition without dancing. I think the new secret for advancing to the next round is to get injured.


  15. UtRider,
    I so agree with you. I can’t believe Legacy was voted off and Ashleigh should have been voted off.

    Drew, I didn’t know my Nano could do that. Thanks!

  16. Rob (dug's brother) Says:

    Dude. There is a cool search feature on your iPhone. Solve most of the world’s problems.
    http://www.iphonestalk.com/new-iphone-public-radio-app-with-pause-and-rewind-of-live-streams-6092/

  17. Rob (dug's brother) Says:

    I just got the iPhone dock / charger from Costco so I get pandora in my car and don’t need to worry about battery life.

    Same thing would work great with your iPhone and the app I noted above.

    • Rob (dug's brother) Says:

      Oh, but if you can find an iPhone dock that doesn’t require you to manually plug-in the audio Jack, then life would be perfect. That’s my ONE complaint with the one currently at costco.

  18. lmcjipo Says:

    I have a RadioShark 2 from Griffin Technologies. It is like a “Tivo for radio”.

    You can read my review here: http://lmcjipo.blogspot.com/2009/10/griffin-technologys-radio-shark-2.html

  19. Anonymous Says:

    I totally have thought that too!!!! It drives me nuts, because it happened to me tonight. Or maybe the dj mumbled something a lil bit and you think to yourself wait I didn’t catch that! Arg, totally rewind the radio…I’m listening.

  20. Beth Says:

    I am so with you on this!!! I also wish I could hit the fast forward when a lame song comes on, just like Pandora…


Leave a Reply

